إذا تمكن الجميع من نقل جنسيتهم وما يتعلق بها من استحقاقات الى اطفالهم وازواجهم، فان الاسر والمجتمعات والاقتصاد سيكون أقوى. هذا هو المستقبل الذي نكافح من أجله

'The State We're In' (Arabic)

بعض الحكومات تحرم المرأة من المساواة مع الرجل في الحقوق

إن ربع حكومات العالم تحرم المرأة من المساواة في حقوق الجنسية مع الرجل، فتمنع النساء من نقل جنسيتهن أو اكتسابها أو تغييرها أو الاحتفاظ بها على قدم المساواة مع الرجل. تقرير المساواة الآن المنقح (كانون ثاني/يناير 2016) يدعو الدول  التي تحرم  المرأة من المساواة في الحقوق المتعلقة بالجنسية وعددها 53 دولة إلى تغيير قوانينها التمييزية.

الحملة من أجل المساواة في حقوق الجنسية

المساواة الآن شريكة في تأسيس الحملة العالمية من أجل المساواة في حقوق الجنسية  وعضوة في لجنتها التوجيهية، وهي عبارة عن ائتلاف يدعو إلى القيام بإجراء دولي لإصلاح القوانين في البلدان التي تُمنع المرأة فيها من نقل جنسيتها إلى أطفالها أو زوجها على قدم المساواة مع الرجال. وبالتضافر مع شركائنا في هذه الحملة، نعمل على زيادة الوعي بشأن حقوق الجنسية، ونعمم نشر الأبحاث وندعو إلى إصلاح القوانين.

كيف يؤثر التمييز الجنسي في قوانين الجنسية على الأسر

بعد أن وُلِدت نور لأمها اللبنانية ونشأت في لبنان، تم تزويج نور وهي في سن 15 عاماً إلى أحد أقارب والدها في مصر. فنظراً لأنه لا حق لها في الحصول على جنسية أمها اللبنانية، فقد أصيب والداها بخوف شديد من ألا تتمكن من البقاء في لبنان بعد أن تكبر، أو ألا تتاح لها سبل التعليم أو العمل التي تكون من حقها لو اعتُرِف لها بجنسية أمها اللبنانية.

وكذلك شيرين غير مسموح لها بتسجيل أطفالها المولودين في الأردن على جواز سفرها الأردني، لأن أباها من بلد آخر. وقد اضطرب زواجها وتصاب بالرعب من أن يصطحب زوجها الأطفال عائداً إلى بلده، ويتركها أمام خيارات قليلة وشاقة لاسترجاعهم. وهي أيضاً تفكر في تزويج ابنتها في وقت مبكر لكي تمنحها الإحساس بالأمن الذي تفتقده هي نفسها.

أما ماكسيم المولود في هايتي فيقيم في جزر البهاما وهو متزوج من امرأة باهامية. وأنجبا معاً طفلين ولدا في جزر البهاما. وبعد أن فقد ماكسيم كفيله في العمل لم يعد بإمكانه قانوناً أن يعمل وهُدّد بالإبعاد. ويواجه هو وزوجته عقبات لا تصدَّق بينما يحاولان إبقاء أفراد أسرتهما معاً، وكل ذلك لأن زوجة ماكسيم لا يمكنها نقل جنسيتها إلى زوجها.

ولو كان والد نور لبنانياً، ولو كان زوج شيرين أردنياً ، لكان لأطفالهما الحق تلقائياً في الجنسية. ولو كان ماكسيم استطاع الحصول على جنسية زوجته عندما تزوجا، لكان الآن أكثر استقراراً. وفي تلك الحالة ما كان الثلاثة جميعاً يواجهون عواقب وخيمة – من قبيل الطرد أو "زواج الطفلة" – كالتي يمكن أن تنتج عن قوانين الجنسية التي تنطوي على التمييز.

فلنخفض الرقم 53 إلى الصفر!

إن صوتك يمكن أن يساعد نور في لبنان وشيرين في الأردن، وماكسيم في جزر البهاما، والأسر في الـ 53 بلداً التي ندعو إلى المساواة في حقوق الجنسية فيها. ويمكن أن تكون القوانين نفسها معقدة، ولكن الحل بسيط للغاية وهو: الإصلاح القانوني الفوري.

عربية

يرجى الانضمام إلى الحملة التي تشنها المساواة الأن للقضاء على التحيز الجنسي القائم في قوانين الجنسية والمواطنة.

Campaign Image: 
Campaign Image - Small: 
Hero Title: 
حالتنا الراهنة
Stand-first: 

إذا تمكن الجميع من نقل جنسيتهم وما يتعلق بها من استحقاقات الى اطفالهم وازواجهم، فان الاسر والمجتمعات والاقتصاد سيكون أقوى. هذا هو المستقبل الذي نكافح من أجله

Body Top: 

'The State We're In' (Arabic)

بعض الحكومات تحرم المرأة من المساواة مع الرجل في الحقوق

إن ربع حكومات العالم تحرم المرأة من المساواة في حقوق الجنسية مع الرجل، فتمنع النساء من نقل جنسيتهن أو اكتسابها أو تغييرها أو الاحتفاظ بها على قدم المساواة مع الرجل. تقرير المساواة الآن المنقح (كانون ثاني/يناير 2016) يدعو الدول  التي تحرم  المرأة من المساواة في الحقوق المتعلقة بالجنسية وعددها 53 دولة إلى تغيير قوانينها التمييزية.

الحملة من أجل المساواة في حقوق الجنسية

المساواة الآن شريكة في تأسيس الحملة العالمية من أجل المساواة في حقوق الجنسية  وعضوة في لجنتها التوجيهية، وهي عبارة عن ائتلاف يدعو إلى القيام بإجراء دولي لإصلاح القوانين في البلدان التي تُمنع المرأة فيها من نقل جنسيتها إلى أطفالها أو زوجها على قدم المساواة مع الرجال. وبالتضافر مع شركائنا في هذه الحملة، نعمل على زيادة الوعي بشأن حقوق الجنسية، ونعمم نشر الأبحاث وندعو إلى إصلاح القوانين.

كيف يؤثر التمييز الجنسي في قوانين الجنسية على الأسر

بعد أن وُلِدت نور لأمها اللبنانية ونشأت في لبنان، تم تزويج نور وهي في سن 15 عاماً إلى أحد أقارب والدها في مصر. فنظراً لأنه لا حق لها في الحصول على جنسية أمها اللبنانية، فقد أصيب والداها بخوف شديد من ألا تتمكن من البقاء في لبنان بعد أن تكبر، أو ألا تتاح لها سبل التعليم أو العمل التي تكون من حقها لو اعتُرِف لها بجنسية أمها اللبنانية.

وكذلك شيرين غير مسموح لها بتسجيل أطفالها المولودين في الأردن على جواز سفرها الأردني، لأن أباها من بلد آخر. وقد اضطرب زواجها وتصاب بالرعب من أن يصطحب زوجها الأطفال عائداً إلى بلده، ويتركها أمام خيارات قليلة وشاقة لاسترجاعهم. وهي أيضاً تفكر في تزويج ابنتها في وقت مبكر لكي تمنحها الإحساس بالأمن الذي تفتقده هي نفسها.

أما ماكسيم المولود في هايتي فيقيم في جزر البهاما وهو متزوج من امرأة باهامية. وأنجبا معاً طفلين ولدا في جزر البهاما. وبعد أن فقد ماكسيم كفيله في العمل لم يعد بإمكانه قانوناً أن يعمل وهُدّد بالإبعاد. ويواجه هو وزوجته عقبات لا تصدَّق بينما يحاولان إبقاء أفراد أسرتهما معاً، وكل ذلك لأن زوجة ماكسيم لا يمكنها نقل جنسيتها إلى زوجها.

ولو كان والد نور لبنانياً، ولو كان زوج شيرين أردنياً ، لكان لأطفالهما الحق تلقائياً في الجنسية. ولو كان ماكسيم استطاع الحصول على جنسية زوجته عندما تزوجا، لكان الآن أكثر استقراراً. وفي تلك الحالة ما كان الثلاثة جميعاً يواجهون عواقب وخيمة – من قبيل الطرد أو "زواج الطفلة" – كالتي يمكن أن تنتج عن قوانين الجنسية التي تنطوي على التمييز.

فلنخفض الرقم 53 إلى الصفر!

إن صوتك يمكن أن يساعد نور في لبنان وشيرين في الأردن، وماكسيم في جزر البهاما، والأسر في الـ 53 بلداً التي ندعو إلى المساواة في حقوق الجنسية فيها. ويمكن أن تكون القوانين نفسها معقدة، ولكن الحل بسيط للغاية وهو: الإصلاح القانوني الفوري.

Body Bottom: 

التقدم المحرز صوب المساواة في حقوق الجنسية

منذ عام 2013، تحقق قدر كبير من التقدم، سواء من حيث تعديل القوانين التمييزية على الصعيد الوطني أو الحركة العالمية المتنامية لوضع حد لقوانين الجنسية التي تنطوي على تمييز.

فقد قام عدد من البلدان إما بإلغاء الأحكام التمييزية داخل قوانينها الوطنية المتعلقة بالجنسية ، أو باتخاذ خطوات لمعالجة تلك الأحكام.

التقدم المحرز صوب المساواة في حقوق الجنسية

منذ عام 2013، تحقق قدر كبير من التقدم، سواء من حيث تعديل القوانين التمييزية على الصعيد الوطني أو الحركة العالمية المتنامية لوضع حد لقوانين الجنسية التي تنطوي على تمييز.

فقد قام عدد من البلدان إما بإلغاء الأحكام التمييزية داخل قوانينها الوطنية المتعلقة بالجنسية ، أو باتخاذ خطوات لمعالجة تلك الأحكام.

If everyone is able to pass on their nationality and all its benefits to their children and spouse, families, communities and economies will be stronger. That’s the future we’re fighting for.

'The State We're In'

Governments Denying Women Equal Rights

A quarter of the world’s governments deny women equal nationality rights, preventing women from passing on, acquiring, changing, or keeping their nationality on an equal basis with men. Equality Now's updated report (Jan 2016) calls on the 53 nations that deny women equal rights to citizenship to change their discriminatory laws.

Campaigning for Equal Rights for Citizenship

Equality Now is a co-founder and Steering Committee member for the Global Campaign for Equal Nationality Rights, a coalition advocating for international action to reform laws in countries where women are prevented from passing their nationality to their children or spouses on an equal basis with men. With our partners in the campaign, we raise awareness about nationality rights, publicize research and advocate for law reform.

How Sexism in Nationality Laws Affect Families

Born and raised in Lebanon to a Lebanese mother, Nour was married off at age 15 to her father's relative in Egypt. Since she is not entitled to her mother's Lebanese citizenship, her parents were scared that she would not be able to remain in Lebanon as an adult, or have access to the education or work that she would be entitled to if her mother’s nationality were recognized.

Shireen is not allowed to register her Jordanian-born children on her Jordanian passport because their father is from another country. She has a troubled marriage and is terrified that her husband will take the children back to his country, leaving her with few and arduous options to get them back. She, too, thinks of marrying off her daughter early in order to give her the sense of security that she herself lacks.

Haitian-born Maxime lives in the Bahamas and is married to a Bahamian woman. Together, they had two Bahamian-born children. After losing his work sponsorship, Maxime couldn’t work legally and was threatened with deportation. He and his wife have faced incredible obstacles while trying to keep their family together, all because Maxime’s wife can’t pass her nationality to her spouse.   

Had Nour’s father been Lebanese, and Shireen’s husband Jordanian, their children would have had an automatic right to citizenship. Had Maxime been able to acquire his wife’s nationality when they married, he would have been more secure. All three would not face the serious consequences-- such as deportation or "child marriage"-- that can result from discriminatory nationality laws.

Let’s get 53 down to zero!

Graphic on sexist nationality laws. FULL INFOGRAPHIC HERE.

Your voice can help Nour in Lebanon, Shireen in Jordan, Maxime in the Bahamas and families in the 53 countries where we’re advocating for equal nationality laws. The laws themselves can be complex, but the solution is very simple: immediate legal reform.    

English

Join Equality Now's campaign to end sexism in nationality and citizenship laws.

Campaign Image: 
Campaign Image - Small: 
Hero Title: 
The State We're In
Stand-first: 

If everyone is able to pass on their nationality and all its benefits to their children and spouse, families, communities and economies will be stronger. That’s the future we’re fighting for.

Body Top: 

'The State We're In'

Governments Denying Women Equal Rights

A quarter of the world’s governments deny women equal nationality rights, preventing women from passing on, acquiring, changing, or keeping their nationality on an equal basis with men. Equality Now's updated report (Jan 2016) calls on the 53 nations that deny women equal rights to citizenship to change their discriminatory laws.

Campaigning for Equal Rights for Citizenship

Equality Now is a co-founder and Steering Committee member for the Global Campaign for Equal Nationality Rights, a coalition advocating for international action to reform laws in countries where women are prevented from passing their nationality to their children or spouses on an equal basis with men. With our partners in the campaign, we raise awareness about nationality rights, publicize research and advocate for law reform.

How Sexism in Nationality Laws Affect Families

Born and raised in Lebanon to a Lebanese mother, Nour was married off at age 15 to her father's relative in Egypt. Since she is not entitled to her mother's Lebanese citizenship, her parents were scared that she would not be able to remain in Lebanon as an adult, or have access to the education or work that she would be entitled to if her mother’s nationality were recognized.

Shireen is not allowed to register her Jordanian-born children on her Jordanian passport because their father is from another country. She has a troubled marriage and is terrified that her husband will take the children back to his country, leaving her with few and arduous options to get them back. She, too, thinks of marrying off her daughter early in order to give her the sense of security that she herself lacks.

Haitian-born Maxime lives in the Bahamas and is married to a Bahamian woman. Together, they had two Bahamian-born children. After losing his work sponsorship, Maxime couldn’t work legally and was threatened with deportation. He and his wife have faced incredible obstacles while trying to keep their family together, all because Maxime’s wife can’t pass her nationality to her spouse.   

Had Nour’s father been Lebanese, and Shireen’s husband Jordanian, their children would have had an automatic right to citizenship. Had Maxime been able to acquire his wife’s nationality when they married, he would have been more secure. All three would not face the serious consequences-- such as deportation or "child marriage"-- that can result from discriminatory nationality laws.

Let’s get 53 down to zero!

Graphic on sexist nationality laws. FULL INFOGRAPHIC HERE.

Your voice can help Nour in Lebanon, Shireen in Jordan, Maxime in the Bahamas and families in the 53 countries where we’re advocating for equal nationality laws. The laws themselves can be complex, but the solution is very simple: immediate legal reform.    

Add Resources: