عالمي: أشركوا المرأة في عملية بناء السلام في سوريا الآن!

نسخة للطباعة
تاريخ: 
2013 Dec 19

تحديث 16 كانون الثاني/يناير 2014: بالرغم من الجهود المستمرة من داخل وخارج سوريا، لم تضمن النساء بقعة في المفاوضات القادمة محادثات جنيف 2 للسلام،  المقررة في 22 كانون الثاني/ يناير 2014.

الرجاء مساندة المساواة الان ومنتدى المرأة السورية للسلام في مواصلة الضغط على اللاعبين الرئيسين الراعيين لمحادثات السلام - الامم المتحدة وروسيا – من خلال تجديد الدعوة اليوم. بناء السلام الذي يراعي الفوارق الجندرية هو السبيل الوحيد لضمان تحقيق سلام يحترم كرامة وحقوق الانسان لجميع السوريين.


وفد منتدى المرأة السورية للسلام يلتقي بأعضاء الكونجرس الأمريكي

" لابد من سماع صوت المرأة في عملية السلام، لا لأن النساء ضحايا للحروب فحسب وإنما أيضا، وهو الأهم، لأن النساء هن أكثر بناة السلام فعالية. فالرجال في الصراعات يحملون السلاح في حين تحافظ النساء على تماسك المجتمعات؛ وقد أصبحت النساء أقوى وأفضل إعداداً لكي يؤدين دورا رئيسيا في ضمان تحقيق سلام حقيقي ".
- منى غانم، منتدى المرأة السورية للسلام

في 22 ديسمبر/كانون الثاني 2014، من المقرر أن تُعقد مباحثات جنيف الثانية للسلام  التي تدعمها الأمم المتحدة بين الحكومة السورية والمعارضة بهدف إنهاء الصراع السوري وتشكيل حكومة انتقالية. غير أن، بعد مرور ما يقرب من 14 عاما على صدور  قرار  مجلس  الأمن 1325 التاريخي الذي يدعو الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة إلى "زيادة مشاركة المرأة وإدماج المنظور الجنساني في جميع الجهود التي تبذلها الأمم المتحدة لحفظ السلام والأمن"، لم يجر إشراك أي امرأة في مفاوضات السلام السورية. 

إتخاذ إجراء!

وفي الأعوام الأخيرة، تفككت اتفاقات السلام وتهاوت بمعدل مذهل في جميع أنحاء العالم. وتشير الأبحاث والتجارب على نحو متزايد إلى تفسير واحد رئيسي – هو عدم إدراج مجموعة واسعة من أصحاب المصلحة، ولا سيما النساء، في عمليات السلام. ولا يقوض استبعاد المرأة السورية من هذه العملية تعزيز حقوق الإنسان المكفولة للمرأة وحمايتها فحسب، ولكنه أيضا يحدّ من فرص السلام المستدام والتنمية في المستقبل لجميع السوريين والسوريات.

ذلك أن  اهتمامات المرأة هي في صميم المخاوف الأمنية والسلام المستدام، والاستماع لصوتها في بناء السلام في أي مكان،  كما يعترف بذلك قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1325، هو أمر غير قابل للتفاوض. وقد دعا الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة والمبعوثين والوسطاء إلى التشاور على وجه التحديد مع القيادات النسائية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني وإشراكها في بناء السلام؛ ولكن المرأة السورية والمجتمع المدني لا يزالان بدون مقاعد على الطاولة.

لتحقيق نتائج مختلفة من وراء عملية السلام السورية، لا بد من اتباع نهج مختلف!

وتهيب المساواة الآن، في شراكة مع منتدى  المرأة  السوريـــة للسلام، بالجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية التي تقود محادثات السلام - الأمم المتحدة والولايات المتحدة وروسيا – أن تعمل فورا وبصورة عاجلة على إشراك المرأة في عملية السلام الثانية في جنيف لكي يتسنى الوصول إلى سلام يحترم كرامة جميع السوريين والسوريات ويكفل لهم حقوق الإنسان. ويجب كذلك أن يتضمن مؤتمر  المانحين  لسوريا، المقرر عقده في 14 يناير/كانون الثاني 2014، تمويلا على سبيل الأولوية لمشاركة المرأة السورية في جميع عمليات السلام وبرامج ما بعد انتهاء النزاع.

والنساء السوريات لهن تنظيم ورسالتهن واضحة وهي: لا بد من أن تكون المرأة جزءا من بناء السلام في سوريا إذا أريد أن يكون هناك أي أمل في الديمقراطية والسلام. وقد استحدث منتدى  المرأة  السوريـــة للسلام، الذي يمثل أكثر من 40 مجموعة داخل سوريا مع طائفة متنوعة من الخلفيات السياسية والاجتماعية والعرقية والعمرية والتعليمية، خريطة  طريق  من  سبعة  نقاط  من أجل  عملية لبناء السلام  تراعي  الاعتبارات  الجنسانية  في سوريا (للغة العربية، انقر هنـــا). والأهداف، المستندة إلى خطة عمل الأمم المتحدة الخاصة لرصد التقدم المحرز في مشاركة المرأة في بناء السلام، هي أهداف استراتيجية وملموسة.

وتدعم المساواة الآن هذه الخطة، التي تدعو إلى ما يلي:

  • مشاركة المرأة في حل النزاعات؛
  • مشاركة المرأة في جميع عمليات التخطيط لما بعد النزاع، وتطبيق التحليل الجنساني عليها؛
  • تمويل مرحلة ما بعد النزاع لتحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين المرأة والفتاة؛
  • بناء القدرات المدنية المراعية للمنظور الجنساني؛
  • تمثيل المرأة في الحكم بعد انتهاء النزاع؛
  • احترام سيادة القانون؛
  • مشاركة المرأة في الانتعاش الاقتصادي مع اتخاذ تدابير محددة للوفاء بهذه الالتزامات الضرورية من جانب المجتمع الدولي وسوريا.

ومنذ عامين، أعدت الولايات المتحدة خطة العمل الوطني للولايات المتحدة بشأن المرأة والسلام والأمن وتنفيذ قرار مجلس الأمن 1325. وفي خطة العمل هذه، تلتزم الولايات المتحدة بالدعوة لإدماج المرأة والمنظورات الجنسانية في المفاوضات بشأن حل النزاعات وبناء السلام، والتحولات السياسية، بما في ذلك من خلال عمل الوفود الامريكية كنموذج. وسوريا هي أول محكّ لهذا الالتزام.

وتنوّه المساواة الآن بالتصريحات الايجابية الصادرة عن المملكــة المتحدة وتقدّر الجهود التي تبذلها جماعات مثل كـــرامـــة  و الرابطة النسائية  الدوليــة  للسلم والحرية اللتين تعملان على ضمان مكان للمرأة السورية على طاولة المفاوضات. ونحث الأمم المتحدة والولايات المتحدة وروسيا، وجميع الحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم، على أن تسير على نفس المنوال ولا تكتفي بتمكين المرأة من المشاركة في عملية صنع السلام، بل أن  تقدّم أيضا أي دعم إضافي قد يلزم لكفالة النجاح لهذه العملية. فقد جلبت الحرب الدمار على حياة الكثير من الناس. وسوف تساعد عملية السلام، بالمشاركة الأصيلة للنساء، على ضمان عدم حدوثها أبدا مرة أخرى.

ما الذي يمكنك أن تفعله: 

إتخاذ إجراء!

يرجى منكم الانضمام إلى المساواة الآن ومنتدى المرأة السورية للسلام في الدعوة إلى مراعاة الفوارق بين الجنسين في عملية بناء السلام في سوريا، ومحاسبة الأمم المتحدة وروسيا والولايات المتحدة على التزاماتها بإشراك المرأة والمجتمع المدني في جميع عمليات السلام السورية.

1)     ناشدوا الأمم المتحدة، والمبعوث الخاص لجامعة الدول العربية إلى سوريا، الأخضر الإبراهيمي، والأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون، والرئيس الروسي، فلاديمير بوتين، تنفيذ  قرار مجلس الأمن 1325 والوفاء بالتزامهم بجعل مشاركة المرأة في عملية السلام السورية إحدى الأولويات.

سعادة السيد بان كي مون
الأمين العام
الأمم المتحدة، S-3800
نيويورك، نيويورك 10017
الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية
البريد الإلكتروني: sg@un.org
الفاكس: 2155-963-212 1 +

السيد الأخضر الإبراهيمي
الممثل الخاص المشترك للأمم المتحدة وجامعة الدول العربية لسوريا
البريد الإلكتروني: Brahimi@un.org
 
خولة مطر، المتحدثة باسم السيد الإبراهيمي
البريد الإلكتروني:
khwala.mattar@unic-eg.org

فلاديمير بوتين
رئيس روسيا
23، شارع إليينكا
موسكو، 103132
روسيا
بريد إلكتروني عن طريق النموذج الشبكي: http://eng.letters.kremlin.ru/send

2)     مطالبة الرئيس أوباما ووزير الخارجية كيري باحترام التزامهما في خطة العمل الوطني للولايات المتحدة بشأن المرأة والسلام والأمن من أجل جعل المرأة السورية إحدى الأولويات في عملية السلام.

الرئيس أوباما
البيت الأبيض
1600 شارع بنسلفانيا، شمال غرب
واشنطن، مقاطعة كولومبيا 20500
الولايات المتحدة
الهاتف: 1111-456-202
البريد الإلكتروني: http://www.whitehouse.gov/contact/submit-questions-and-comments
BRhodes@nss.eop.gov (بن رودس، مستشار الرئيس أوباما للسياسة الخارجية)

جون كيري، وزير الدولة
وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية
2201 C شارع NW
واشنطن، مقاطعة كولومبيا 20520
الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية
الهاتف: 5291- 647-202
البريد الإلكتروني:  kerryj@state.gov

مع توجيه نسخة إلى:
السفير راسيل
وزارة الخارجية
مكتب العالمي لقضايا المرأة
2201 C شارع NW
واشنطن مقاطعة كولومبيا 20520
الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية
البريد الإلكتروني:   Russellk@state.gov 

3)     التعريف بالموضوع! استخدموا شبكاتكم الاجتماعية لخلق موجة من الدعم بإرسال تغريدات بالرسالة التالية إلى الجهات التالية:

تأكدوا من # مشاركة المرأة السورية في محادثات السلام الثانية بجنيف. تابعوا # خريطة  الطريق  ذات  النقاط  السبع  من أجل عملية لبناء السلام  تراعي  الاعتبارات  الجنسانية  في سوريا http://tinyurl.com/lovf7e4

  • @WhiteHouse (الرئيس أوباما)
  • @JohnKerry (وزير الخارجية جون كيري)
  • @Rhodes44 (بن رودس، مستشار الرئيس أوباما للسياسة الخارجية)
  • @AmbassadorPower (سيمانثا باور، الممثلة الدائمة للولايات المتحدة لدى الأمم المتحدة)
  • @S_GWI (وزارة الخارجية، المكتب العالمي لقضايا المرأة)
  • @LakhdarBrahimi
  • @UN_DPA
  • @UNICCairo
     

رسائل: 

1)

سعادة الأمين العام ، الممثل الخاص الإبراهيمي، فخامة الرئيس بوتين

لقد انقضى ما يقرب من 14 عاما على صدور قرار مجلس الأمن 1325 التاريخي بدعوة الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة إلى "زيادة مشاركة المرأة وإدماج المنظور الجنساني في جميع الجهود التي تبذلها الأمم المتحدة لحفظ السلام والأمن". وأحثكم على أن تبذلوا قصارى جهودكم لضمان أن تتمكن المرأة من المشاركة بشكل كامل في محادثات السلام الثانية بجنيف في 22 يناير/كانون الثاني 2014 بين الحكومة السورية والمعارضة، التي يتمثل الهدف منها إنهاء النزاع السوري وتشكيل حكومة انتقالية.

ولا يقوض استبعاد المرأة السورية من عملية السلام تعزيز حقوق الإنسان المكفولة للمرأة وحمايتها فحسب، ولكنه أيضا يحدّ من فرص السلام المستدام والتنمية في المستقبل لجميع السوريين والسوريات. وفي الأعوام الأخيرة، تفككت اتفاقات السلام وتهاوت بمعدل مذهل في جميع أنحاء العالم. وتشير الأبحاث والتجارب على نحو متزايد إلى تفسير واحد رئيسي لذلك – هو عدم إدراج مجموعة واسعة من الجهات صاحبة المصلحة، ولا سيما النساء، في عمليات السلام.

وقد استحدث منتدى المرأة السورية للسلام، الذي يمثل ما يزيد على 40 مجموعة داخل سوريا من طائفة متنوعة من الخلفيات السياسية والاجتماعية والعرقية والعمرية والتعليمية، خريطة طريق من سبع نقاط للوصول إلى عملية لبناء السلام تراعي الاعتبارات الجنسانية في سوريا. ورسالة المنتدى واضحة هي أن المرأة يجب أن تكون جزءا من بناء السلام في سوريا لكي يكون هناك أي أمل في الديمقراطية والسلام.

وتدعم المساواة الآن خريطة طريق منتدى المرأة السورية للسلام، المستندة إلى خطة عمل ذات 7 نقاط استحدثها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة في عام 2010 لتتبع التقدم المحرز في مشاركة المرأة في بناء السلام ، وهي تدعو إلى:

  • مشاركة المرأة في حل النزاعات؛
  • مشاركة المرأة في جميع عمليات التخطيط لما بعد النزاع، وتطبيق التحليل الجنساني عليها؛
  • تمويل مرحلة ما بعد النزاع لتحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين المرأة والفتاة؛
  • بناء القدرات المدنية المراعية للمنظور الجنساني؛
  • تمثيل المرأة في الحكم بعد انتهاء النزاع؛
  • احترام سيادة القانون؛
  • مشاركة المرأة في الانتعاش الاقتصادي مع اتخاذ تدابير محددة للوفاء بهذه الالتزامات الضرورية من جانب المجتمع الدولي وسوريا.

ومع وافر الاحترام، أحث الأمم المتحدة والدول الأعضاء فيها على تنفيذ قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1325 وبذل كل الجهود لمتابعة خريطة الطريق المؤدية إلى عملية لبناء السلام تراعي الاعتبارات الجنسانية  وضمان إشراك نساء من المجتمع المدني السوري الثاني في مؤتمر  جنيف الثاني في يناير/ كانون الثاني . وقد جلبت الحرب الدمار على حياة كثير من الأشخاص. ومن شأن عملية السلام بمشاركة أصيلة من المرأة أن تساعدة على ضمان عدم حدوثها أبدا مرة أخرى.
 
شكرا لكم على اهتمامكم .


2)

فخامة الرئيس، معالي الوزير كيري،

يساورني القلق إزاء عدم إدراج النساء مطلقا، ولا سيما نساء المجتمع المدني، في عمليات السلام السورية. فقد انقضى ما يقرب من 14 عاما على صدور قرار مجلس الأمن 1325 التاريخي بدعوة الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة، إلى "زيادة مشاركة المرأة وإدماج المنظور الجنساني في جميع الجهود التي تبذلها الأمم المتحدة لحفظ السلام والأمن". وأحثكم على أن تبذلوا قصارى وسعكم لضمان أن تتمكن المرأة من المشاركة بشكل كامل في 22 يناير 2014 في محادثات السلام الثانية في جنيف بين الحكومة السورية والمعارضة ، التي يتمثل الهدف منها إنهاء النزاع السوري وإقامة حكومة انتقالية.

وقد اعترفت حكومة الولايات المتحدة رسميا بالصلة بين المرأة والسلام والأمن عن طريق تنفيذ قرار مجلس الأمن 1325 من خلال خطة العمل الوطنية للولايات المتحدة لعام 2011 المعنية بالمرأة والسلام والأمن. ولا يقوض استبعاد المرأة السورية من عملية السلام تعزيز حقوق الإنسان المكفولة للمرأة وحمايتها فحسب، ولكنه أيضا يحدّ من فرص السلام المستدام والتنمية في المستقبل لجميع السوريين والسوريات. وفي الأعوام الأخيرة، تفككت اتفاقات السلام وتهاوت بمعدل مذهل في جميع أنحاء العالم. وتشير الأبحاث والتجارب على نحو متزايد إلى تفسير واحد رئيسي لذلك – هو عدم إدراج مجموعة واسعة من الجهات صاحبة المصلحة، ولا سيما النساء، في عمليات السلام.

وقد استحدث منتدى المرأة السورية للسلام، الذي يمثل ما يزيد على 40 مجموعة داخل سوريا من طائفة متنوعة من الخلفيات السياسية والاجتماعية والعرقية والعمرية والتعليمية، خريطة طريق من سبع نقاط للوصول إلى عملية لبناء السلام تراعي الاعتبارات الجنسانية في سوريا. ورسالة المنتدى واضحة هي أن المرأة يجب أن تكون جزءا من بناء السلام في سوريا لكي يكون هناك أي أمل في الديمقراطية والسلام.

وتدعم المساواة الآن خريطة طريق منتدى المرأة السورية للسلام، المستندة إلى خطة عمل ذات 7 نقاط استحدثها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة في عام 2010 لتتبع التقدم المحرز في مشاركة المرأة في بناء السلام ، وهي تدعو إلى:

  • مشاركة المرأة في حل النزاعات؛
  • مشاركة المرأة في جميع عمليات التخطيط لما بعد النزاع، وتطبيق التحليل الجنساني عليها؛
  • تمويل مرحلة ما بعد النزاع لتحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين المرأة والفتاة؛
  • بناء القدرات المدنية المراعية للمنظور الجنساني؛
  • تمثيل المرأة في الحكم بعد انتهاء النزاع؛
  • احترام سيادة القانون؛
  • مشاركة المرأة في الانتعاش الاقتصادي مع اتخاذ تدابير محددة للوفاء بهذه الالتزامات الضرورية من جانب المجتمع الدولي وسوريا

ومن خلال خطة العمل الوطنية، تلتزم الولايات المتحدة بالدعوة إلى إدماج المنظورات النسائية والجنسانية في المفاوضات بشأن حل النزاعات، وبناء السلام ، والتحولات السياسية. وقد جلبت الحرب في سوريا الدمار لحياة كثير من البشر وتعدّ أول محك لهذا الالتزام. وبكل الاحترام أحث حكومة الولايات المتحدة على الوفاء بهذا الالتزام وبذل جميع الجهود لمتابعة خريطة الطريق من أجل التوصل إلى عملية لبناء السلام تراعي الاعتبارات الجنسانية وضمان إشراك النساء من المجتمع المدني السوري في محادثات جنيف الثانية. ومن شأن ذلك أن يساعد على تحقيق الكرامة واحترام حقوق الإنسان و السلام المستدام لجميع السوريين والسوريات.

شكرا لكم على اهتمامكم .

Global: Include women in the Syrian peacebuilding process now!

Printer-friendly versionSend to friend
IMPORTANT: This archived action campaign has been completed or discontinued, and the information contained in it may not be current. Please see Take Action for current and ongoing campaigns.
Date: 
19 Dec 2013

16 JANUARY 2014 UPDATE: Despite persistent efforts from both inside and outside Syria, women have not been guaranteed a spot at in the upcoming Geneva II peace talks, scheduled to begin 22 January 2014.

Please help Equality Now and the Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace maintain pressure on the key players leading the talks – the UN, US and Russia – by renewing our call today. Gender sensitive peacebuilding is the only way to ensure that a peace that respects the dignity and human rights of all Syrians can be achieved.


SWFP delegation meets with members of US Congress
“Women’s voices must be included in the peace process not only because they are victims of war but also, more importantly, because women are the most effective peacebuilders. In the conflict men have taken up arms while women are holding communities together; women have become stronger and better equipped to play a key role in securing real peace.” -Mouna Ghanem, Founder, Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace

On 22 January 2014, the United Nations (UN)-backed Geneva II peace talks between the Syrian government and the opposition are scheduled to be held with the goal of ending the Syrian conflict and creating a transitional government. However, nearly 14 years after the landmark passage of UN Security Council resolution 1325 (UNSCR 1325) calling on UN member states to “increase the participation of women and incorporate gender perspectives in all United Nations peace and security efforts,” no women have been included in the Syrian peace negotiations.

TAKE ACTION NOW! << Click on this link to send all letters below online.

In recent years, peace agreements around the world have fallen apart at a startling rate. Research and experience are increasingly pointing to one major explanation - the failure to include a broad range of stakeholders, especially women, in peace processes. The exclusion of Syrian women from the process not only undermines the promotion and protection of women’s human rights, but also reduces chances for a sustainable peace and future development for all Syrians.

Women’s concerns are at the core of security concerns and sustainable peace and as UNSCR 1325 recognizes, including the voices of women in peacebuilding anywhere is not negotiable. The UN Secretary-General has specifically called upon UN member states, envoys and mediators to consult with women leaders and civil society organizations and to engage them in peacebuilding; yet Syrian women and civil society still do not have a seat at the table.

To achieve a different outcome for the Syrian peace process, there must be a different approach!

In partnership with Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace, Equality Now is calling on the key players leading the peace talks – the UN, US and Russia – to immediately and urgently include women in the Geneva II peace process so that a peace that respects the dignity and human rights of all Syrians can be achieved. The Syrian Donors Conference, scheduled for 14 January 2014, must also include as a priority funding for Syrian women's participation in all peace processes and post-conflict programs.

Syrian women are organized and their message is clear: women must be part of peacebuilding in Syria if there is to be any hope for democracy and peace. The Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace, representing more than 40 groups within Syria with a diverse range of political, social, ethnic, age, and education backgrounds introduced a Seven Point Road Map to Gender Sensitive Peace Building Process in Syria (for Arabic, click here). The goals, based on the UN’s own Plan of Action to monitor progress on women’s participation in peacebuilding, are strategic and concrete.

Equality Now supports this plan, which calls for:

  • women’s participation in conflict resolution;
  • women’s participation in, and applied gender analysis to, all post-conflict planning processes;
  • post-conflict financing for gender equality and women and girl’s empowerment;
  • gender-responsive civilian capacity-building;
  • women’s representation in post-conflict governance;
  • the rule of law being upheld; and
  • women’s involvement in the economic recovery with specific measures to achieve these necessary commitments by the international community and Syria.

Two years ago, the United States developed the US National Action Plan (NAP) on Women Peace and Security, implementing UNSCR1325. In it, the US commits to advocating for the integration of women and gender perspectives in negotiations concerning conflict resolution, peacebuilding, and political transitions, including through U.S. delegations serving as a model. Syria is the first test of this commitment.

Equality Now notes the positive statements of the United Kingdom and recognizes the efforts of groups such as Karama and the Women’s International League for Peace & Freedom working to secure Syrian women a place at the negotiation table. We urge the UN, US and Russia, and all governments around the world, to follow suit and enable not only the participation of women in the peace-making process, but also to provide any additional support they may need to ensure that the process is successful. The war has brought devastation to so many lives. The peace process, with the integral participation of women, will help ensure it never happens again.

What You Can Do: 

TAKE ACTION NOW! << Click on this link to send all letters below online.

Please join Equality Now and the Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace in calling for gender sensitive peacebuilding in Syria and holding the UN, Russia and the US accountable to their commitments to include women and civil society in all Syrian peace processes.

1)  Call on UN & Arab League Special Envoy to Syria, Lakhdar Brahimi, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, and Russian President, Vladmir Putin, to implement UNSCR 1325 and honor their commitment to make women in the Syrian peace process a priority.

H.E. Ban Ki-moon
Secretary-General
United Nations, S-3800
New York, NY 10017
USA
Email: sg@un.org
Fax: +1 212-963-2155

Mr. Lakhdar Brahimi
Joint Special Representative of the UN & the League of Arab States for Syria
Email: Brahimi@un.org
Khawla Mattar, Spokesperson for Mr. Brahimi
Email: khwala.mattar@unic-eg.org

Vladimir Putin
President of Russia
23, Ilyinka Street
Moscow, 103132
Russia
Email via webform: http://eng.letters.kremlin.ru/send

2)  Call on President Obama and Secretary Kerry to honor their commitment in the US NAP on Women Peace and Security to make Syrian women a priority in the peace process.

President Obama
White House
1600 Pennsylvania Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20500
USA
Phone: 202 456-1111
Email: http://www.whitehouse.gov/contact/submit-questions-and-comments
BRhodes@nss.eop.gov  (Ben Rhodes, Foreign Policy Advisor to President Obama)

John Kerry, Secretary of State
US Department of State
2201 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20520
USA
Phone: 202 647-5291
Email: kerryj@state.gov

With a copy to:
Ambassador Russell
Department of State
Global Office for Women’s Issues
2201 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20520
USA
Email: Russellk@state.gov

3)  Spread the word! Use your social networks to create a groundswell of support by tweeting the following message to the targets below:

Ensure #Syria Women at Geneva II peace talks. Follow #SWFP 7 Point Roadmap to Gender Sensitive Peace http://tinyurl.com/lovf7e4

  • @WhiteHouse (President Obama)
  • @JohnKerry (Secretary of State John Kerry)
  • @Rhodes44 (Ben Rhodes, Foreign Policy Advisor to President Obama)
  • @AmbassadorPower (Samantha Power, US Permanent Representative to the UN)
  • @S_GWI (Department of State, Global Office for Women’s Issues)
  • @LakhdarBrahimi
  • @UN_DPA
  • @UNICCairo
     
Letters: 

1)

Dear Mr. Secretary-General, Special Representative Brahimi, President Putin

I am concerned about the total lack of inclusion of women, especially those from civil society, in the Syrian peace processes. It has been nearly 14 years since the landmark passage of  UN Security Council resolution 1325 (UNSCR 1325) calling on UN member states to “increase the participation of women and incorporate gender perspectives in all United Nations peace and security efforts.” I urge you to do all that you can to ensure that women are able to fully participate in the 22 January 2014 Geneva II peace talks between the Syrian government and the opposition, the goal of which is to end the Syrian conflict and create a transitional government.

Exclusion of Syrian women from the peace process not only undermines the promotion and protection of women’s human rights, but also reduces chances for a sustainable peace and future development for all Syrians. In recent years, peace agreements around the world have fallen apart at a startling rate. Research and experience are increasingly pointing to one major explanation - the failure to include a broad range of stakeholders, especially women, in peace processes.

The Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace, representing 40 plus groups within Syria from a variety of political, social, ethnic, age, and education backgrounds has introduced a Seven Point Road Map to Gender Sensitive Peace Building Process in Syria. Their message is clear: women must be part of peacebuilding in Syria if there is to be any hope for democracy and peace.

Equality Now supports the Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace road map, based on a 7 Point Plan of Action introduced by the UN Secretary General in 2010 to track progress on women’s participation in peacebuilding, which calls for:

  • women’s participation in conflict resolution;
  • women’s participation in, and applied gender analysis to, all post-conflict planning processes;
  • post-conflict financing for gender equality and women and girl’s empowerment;
  • gender-responsive civilian capacity-building;
  • women’s representation in post-conflict governance;
  • the rule of law being upheld; and,
  • women’s involvement in the economic recovery with specific measures to achieve these necessary commitments by the international community and Syria.

I respectfully urge the United Nations and its member states to implement UNSCR 1325 and use all efforts to follow the road map for a gender sensitive peace building process and ensure the inclusion of women from Syrian civil society at Geneva II in January. The war has brought devastation to so many lives. The peace process with the integral participation of women will help ensure it never happens again. Doing so will help achieve dignity, respect for human rights and a sustainable peace for all Syrians.
 
Thank you for your attention.


2)

Dear Mr. President, Secretary Kerry,

I am concerned about the total lack of inclusion of women, especially those from civil society, in the Syrian peace processes. It has been nearly 14 years since the landmark passage of  UN Security Council resolution 1325 (UNSCR 1325) calling on UN member states, including the United States, to “increase the participation of women and incorporate gender perspectives in all United Nations peace and security efforts.” I urge you to do all that you can to ensure that women are able to fully participate in the 22 January 2014 Geneva II peace talks between the Syrian government and the opposition, the goal of which is to end the Syrian conflict and create a transitional government.

The US government has officially recognized the link between women, peace and security by implementing Security Council Resolution 1325 through the 2011 U.S. National Action Plan on Women Peace and Security (NAP). Exclusion of Syrian women from the peace process not only undermines the promotion and protection of women’s human rights, but also reduces chances for a sustainable peace and future development for all Syrians. In recent years, peace agreements around the world have fallen apart at a startling rate. Research and experience are increasingly pointing to one major explanation - the failure to include a broad range of stakeholders, especially women, in peace processes.

The Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace, representing 40 plus groups within Syria from a variety of political, social, ethnic, age, and education backgrounds, has introduced a Seven Point Road Map to Gender Sensitive Peace Building Process in Syria. Their message is clear: women must be part of peacebuilding in Syria if there is to be any hope for democracy and peace.

Equality Now supports the Syrian Women’s Forum for Peace road map, based on a 7 Point Plan of Action introduced by the UN Secretary General in 2010 to track progress on women’s participation in peacebuilding, which calls for:

  • women’s participation in conflict resolution;
  • women’s participation in, and applied gender analysis to, all post-conflict planning processes;
  • post-conflict financing for gender equality and women and girl’s empowerment;
  • gender-responsive civilian capacity-building;
  • women’s representation in post-conflict governance;
  • the rule of law being upheld; and,
  • women’s involvement in the economic recovery with specific measures to achieve these necessary commitments by the international community and Syria.

Through the NAP, the US commits to advocating for the integration of women and gender perspectives in negotiations concerning conflict resolution, peacebuilding, and political transitions. The war in Syria has brought devastation to so many lives and is the first test of this commitment. I respectfully urge the US government to live up to this commitment and use all efforts to follow the road map for a gender sensitive peace building process and ensure the inclusion of women from Syrian civil society at Geneva II. Doing so will help achieve dignity, respect for human rights and a sustainable peace for all Syrians.

Thank you for your attention.