Bring Back Our Girls rally

نيجيريـــا: أعيدوا إلينا بناتنــا

نسخة للطباعةSend to friend
تاريخ: 
2014 May 9

pdf

"إن الفتيات يمثلن مستقبلنا. والمتطرفون يدركون هذا ويريدون أن يحرموا العالم من الأمل الذي يتجسد في الفتيات المراهقات. فالأمر لا يتعلق بنيجيريا وحدها – بل هو يتعلق بحماية حقوق جميع الفتيات أينما كنّ بحيث تحققن إمكانياتهن الكاملة بدون تعرض لخطر العنف". – المساواة الآن

لقد انقضى أكثر من ثلاثة أسابيع على اقتحام المهاجمين المدججي بالسلاح لمدرسة البنات الثانوية الحكومية في تشيبوك، بنيجيريا، وخطفهم ما يقرب من 300 فتاة خلال ليلة 14-15 نيسان/أبريل. ولم تشاهد غالبية التلميذات أو يُسمع منهن منذ ذلك الحين، ويُخشى أن يكون قد تم بيعهن تمهيدا لتزويجهن واسترقاقهن جنسيا في نيجيريا، وربما في الكاميرون وتشاد المجاورتين. وتفيد التقارير بأن الجماعة المسلحة بوكو حرام، وترجمتها ببساطة هي "التعليم الغربي رذيلة" ادّعت مسؤوليتها قائلة "ينبغي أن يوضع حد للتعليم الغربي. أيتها الطالبات، اذهبن واسعين في طلب الزواج. إنني سأبيعهن في أسواق النخاسة". وفي تطور آخر مثير للقلق، في أوائل أسبوع 4 آيار/مايو، اختطف مسلحون يشتبه في انتمائهم لبوكو حرام ثماني فتيات أخريات على الأقل – بعضهن لا تتجاوز أعمارهن الثامنة من إحدى القرى في ولاية بورنو، نيجيريا. وفي 6 آيار/مايو، أشار مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لشؤون اللاجئين إلى أن هذه الانتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان، أي بيع الفتيات المختطفات في سوق الرقيق – قد يشكل "جرائم  ضد  الإنسانية". غير أن الجهود المبذولة لإنقاذ الفتيات قاصرة بدرجة مؤسفة حتى الآن.

إتخاذ إجراء! #BRINGBACKOURGIRLS!


ونظمت النساء والفتيات في أنحاء نيجيريا وفي أرجاء العالم حملات في الشوارع وعلى وسائط الإعلام للاحتجاج على عجز الحكومة عن اتخاذ إجراء، مما أدى إلى ظهور حملة عالمية يتمثل الغرض منها في "أعيدوا إلينا بناتنا". ومن الأمور المفزعة أن الأمر استغرق أسابيع قبل أن يصدر الرئيس النيجيري جودلاك جوناثان تعهدا حكوميا بالعثور على الفتيات، بعد تشكيل "لجنة لتقصي الحقائق" في 2 آيار/ مايو، وأفادت التقارير بأن سيدة نيجيريا الأولى، بيشانس جوناثان، قد أمرت بالقبض على قادة المظاهرات في حملة دعم الفتيات وأسرهن في 5 آيار/مايو (في 6 مايو أعرب الرئيس عن قبوله الدعم الدولي للمساعدة في جهود البحث).

والعنف القائم على اساس النوع الاجتماعي في نيجيريا آخذ في الازدياد وقد وقعت حوادث اختطاف مماثلة في الماضي. ويساور شريكتنا النيجيرية منظمة البديل المتمثل في النهوض بحقوق المرأة وحمايتها قلق بالغ من أن تستمر هذه الأعمال في الحدوث إلى أن تجعل نيجيريا من سلامة الفتيات وحقوقهن إحدى أولوياتها، ولا سيما اللائي تعشن في مناطق النزاعات، وإلى أن تعمل على حماية هذه السلامة وهذه الحقوق. فالتقاعس عن ذلك من شأنه أن يبعث برسالة مؤداها أن النساء والفتيات يمكن شراؤهن وبيعهن واستخدامهن بمثابة عملة سياسية مع الإفلات من العقاب على ذلك.

وقد صذّقت نيجيريا على الصكوك الدولية والإقليمية لحقوق الإنسان التي تؤكد مسؤولية الدولة عن حماية المرأة والفتاة من العنف الجنسي، ومنها البروتوكول  المتعلق  بحقوق  المرأة  في  أفريقيا (بروتوكول مابوتو) و الميثاق الأفريقي لحقوق الطفل ورفاهه ، واتفاقية  القضاء  على جميع  أشكال التمييز  ضد المرأة و اتفاقية حقوق الطفل. وتدعو هذه الصكوك على وجه التحديد نيجيريا إلى حماية الفتيات من الاتجار والممارسات الثقافية الضارة، بما في ذلك زواج الطفلة، كما تدعوها إلى أن تكفل حق الفتاة في التعليم.

وإلى أن تضفي الحكومة النيجيرية وغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة في النزاع القائم في نيجيريا مزيدا من القيمة على النساء والفتيات بوصفهن بشرا وتتخذ تدابير شاملة لحمايتهن من جميع أشكال العنف، فستبقى تواجهن خطرا مستمرا ومتزايدا من هذه الاعتداءات.

ما الذي يمكنك أن تفعله: 

إتخاذ إجراء! #BRINGBACKOURGIRLS!

يرجى الانضمام إلى المساواة الآن وشريكاتنا النيجيريات "البديل المتمثل في حقوق المرأة وحمايتها" و"النساء من أجل العدالة والسلام" و"التحالفات من أجل أفريقيا" في مطالبة حكومة نيجيريا بالقيام على نحو عاجل بما يلي:
•    اتخاذ إجراء فوري لتحديد مكان الفتيات وإنقاذهن وتزويدهن بخدمات الدعم اللازمة لدى عودتهن
•    محاكمة المسؤولين عن اختطاف الفتيات واستغلالهن
•    اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لحماية المدارس من الاعتداءات لكي تصبح أماكن آمنة للتعلم
•    القيام على الفور، بالتشاور مع منظمات حقوق المرأة، باتخاذ التدابير لحماية سلامة وحقوق النساء والفتيات في جميع أنحاء نيجيريا، اللائي تتعرضن كذلك للخطر من الحالة السياسية المتفجرة في مناطق النزاع
علاوة على ذلك، يرجى مطالبة حكومتي الكاميرون وتشاد بالتحقق على وجه السرعة مما إذا كان قد تم نقل الفتيات إلى بلديهما والمساعدة في إنقاذهن.

(ويمكنك أيضا أن تعيد إرسال تغريدات لتشاطر الرسائل من صفحاتنا على تويتــــر و فيســـــبوك في إطار الحملة العالمية "أعيدوا إلينا بناتنا)

LETTER #1

H.E. President Goodluck Jonathan
President of  Nigeria
Aso Rock Presidential Villa
Abuja, Nigeria
cc: Permanent Mission of Nigeria to the United Nations
Email: permny@nigeriaunmission.org

Comrade Abba Moro
Minister Of Interior
Block F, Old Secretariat, Garki Area 1, PMB 7007, Garki, Abuja, Nigeria
Email: info@interior.gov.ng

Aliyu Gusau
Minister of Defense
Ship House, Area 10, Garki, Abuja, Nigeria
Fax:  +234 9 234 0714

Mohammed Bello Adoke
Attorney General
Federal Ministry of Justice
Shehu Shagari Way, Central Area
Abuja, Nigeria
Telephone: +234 9 523 5208
Fax: +234 9 523 5194
Email: info@justice.gov.ng

Hon. Aminu Tambuwal
Speaker of the House of Representatives of the National Assembly of Nigeria
National Assembly Complex
Three Arms Zone
Abuja, Nigeria
Email: hon.aminu.tambuwal@nass.gov.ng
Twitter: @SpeakerTambuwal

Hajiya Zainab Maina
Minister of Women Affairs
Federal Ministry of Women Affairs
Annex 3, New Federal Secretariat, Shehu Shagari Way, Central Area, P.M.B. 229 Garki
Abuja, Nigeria
Fax: +234 9 5233644
enquiries@womenaffairs.gov.ng

Dr. James N. Obiegbu
Permanent Secretary
Federal Ministry of Police Affairs,
8th Fl., Federal Secretariat Complex, Shehu Shagari Way,
Maitama
Abuja, Nigeria
emergency@policeaffairs.gov.ng

Senator David Mark
President of the Senate of the National Assembly of Nigeria
National Assembly Complex
Three Arms Zone
Abuja, Nigeria
hon.david.mark@nass.gov.ng

LETTER #2

H.E. President Paul Biya
President of the Republic of Cameroon
P.O. Box 1000
Yaoundé, Cameroon
cellcom@prc.cm
@PR_Paul_Biya
cc: Permanent Mission of Cameroon to the United Nations
cameroon.mission@yahoo.com

H.E. President Idriss Déby
President of Chad
P.O. Box 74
N’Djamena, Chad
Tel: +235 514 437
Fax: +235 514 501
cc: Permanent Mission of Chad to the United Nations
chadmission@gmail.com

رسائل: 

LETTER #1

فخامة الرئيس، معالي الوزير(ة)، سعادة النائب العام، سعادة الأمين الدائم، سعادة السناتور، سعادة رئيس مجلس النواب
أحثكم على الإصغاء للمتظاهرين في نيجيريا، وفي أنحاء العالم، واتخاذ إجراءات فورية "لتعيدوا إلينا بناتنا". فكل يوم تبقى فيه هؤلاء الفتيات مفقودات يعرضهن لمزيد من الخطر.
إن اختطاف ما يقرب من 300 تلميذة في تشيبوك على أيدي بوكو حرام في شهر نيسان/أبريل، وثماني فتيات أخريات في آيار/مايو، وما تفيد به التقارير من بيع بعض الفتيات في سوق الزواج والاسترقاق الجنسي، يشكلان انتهاكات صارخة لحقوق الإنسان. وقد يشكلان أيضا، وفقا لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان، جريمة ضد الإنسانية. وقد قصرت جهودكم المبذولة حتى الآن قصورا شديدا، مما يبعث برسالة مؤداها أنه يمكن بيع الفتيات والنساء واستخدامهن كسلعة ومبادلتهن كعملة سياسية. وإلى أن تدرك الحكومة النيجيرية وغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة في النزاع في نيجيريا بشكل أفضل قيمة النساء والفتيات كبشر، وما لم تتخذ تدابير شاملة لحمايتهن من جميع أشكال العنف، فإنهن ستواجهن خطرا مستمرا ومتزايدا من هذه الإساءات.
وقد صدقت نيجيريا على عدة صكوك دولية وإقليمية لحقوق الإنسان تؤكد مسؤولية الدولة عن حماية النساء والفتيات من جميع أشكال العنف القائم على اساس النوع الاجتماعي، وتدعو نيجيريا تحديدا إلى حماية الفتيات من الاتجار والممارسات الضارة من قبيل زواج الأطفال. كما أنها تقتضي دعم حقوق الفتيات في التعليم.
وأضم صوتي إلى منظمة المساواة الآن ومنظمات البديل المتمثل في النهوض بحقوق المرأة وحمايتها وأصداء المرأة في أفريقيا والنساء من أجل العدالة والسلام وتحالفات من أجل أفريقيا في مناشدتكم أن تكفلوا سلامة الفتيات والنساء في النزاع الجاري في نيجيريا، وذلك بما يلي:
1    اتخاذ إجراء فوري لتحديد مكان الفتيات وإنقاذهن وتزويدهن بخدمات إعادة التأهيل والدعم اللازمة لدى عودتهن
2    محاكمة المسؤولين عن اختطاف الفتيات واستغلالهن
3    اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لحماية المدارس من الاعتداءات لكي تصبح أماكن آمنة للتعلم
4    القيام على الفور، بالتشاور مع منظمات حقوق المرأة، باتخاذ التدابير لحماية سلامة النساء والفتيات في جميع أنحاء البلد، اللائي  تتعرضن كذلك للخطر من الحالة السياسية المتفجرة في مناطق النزاع بنيجيريا وحقوق الإنسان الخاصة بهن.
شكرا لكم على اهتمامكم العاجل بهذه المسألة.
وتفضلوا بقبول فائق الاحترام،


 LETTER #2

فخامة الرئيس،
تفيد التقارير بأن قرابة 300 تلميذة نيجيرية اختطفتهن بوكو حرام في شهر نيسان/أبريل ربما تكن قد أدخِلن إلى بلدكم حيث تتعرضن للاسترقاق الجنسي والزواج القسري. لذلك فإني أحثكم بقوة على اتخاذ إجراءات فورية للمساعدة على تحديد مكان هؤلاء الفتيات وإنقاذهن. فكل يوم تبقى فيه هؤلاء الفتيات مفقودات يعرضهن لمزيد من الخطر.
إن اختطاف تلميذات تشيبوك، نيجيريا، وثماني فتيات أخريات في آيار/مايو، والاتجار بهن على أيدي بوكو حرام يشكلان انتهاكات صارخة لحقوق الإنسان. وقد يشكل بيع الفتيات في سوق الرقيق أيضا، وفقا لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان، جرائم ضد الإنسانية. وقد قصرت جهودكم المبذولة لإنقاذ الفتيات حتى الآن قصورا شديدا، مما يبعث برسالة مؤداها أنه يمكن بيع الفتيات والنساء واستخدامهن كسلعة ومبادلتهن كعملة سياسية.
وأضم صوتي إلى منظمة المساواة الآن ومنظمات البديل المتمثل في النهوض بحقوق المرأة وحمايتها وأصداء المرأة في أفريقيا والنساء من أجل العدالة والسلام وتحالفات من أجل أفريقيا في مناشدتكم أن تتخذوا إجراءات فورية للمساعدة في تحديد مكان هؤلاء الفتيات وإعادتهن سالمات ومحاكمة المسؤولين عن اختطافهن واستغلالهن و/أو تسليمهن.
وقد صدق بلدكم على عدة صكوك دولية وإقليمية لحقوق الإنسان تؤكد مسؤولية الدولة عن حماية النساء والفتيات من جميع أشكال العنف القائم على اساس النوع الاجتماعي، وتدعو تحديدا إلى حماية الفتيات من الاتجار والممارسات الضارة من قبيل زواج الأطفال. وأدعوكم مع وافر الاحترام إلى أن تحترموا التزامات بلدكم في هذا الصدد.
شكرا لكم على اهتمامكم العاجل بهذه المسألة.
وتفضلوا بقبول فائق الاحترام،

Bring Back Our Girls rally

Nigeria: #BringBackOurGirls

Printer-friendly versionSend to friend
Date: 
9 May 2014

view as pdf

“Girls are our future. Extremists know this and want to deprive the world of the hope adolescent girls embody. This is not only about Nigeria – it is about protecting the rights of every girl, everywhere to reach her fullest potential without the threat of violence.”
-Equality Now

It’s been more than three weeks since heavily armed attackers stormed the Government Girls Secondary School in Chibok, Nigeria and abducted nearly 300 girls during the night of 14-15 April. The majority of the schoolgirls have not been seen or heard from since and are feared to have been sold into “marriages” and sexual slavery in Nigeria, and potentially, in neighboring Cameroon and Chad. The militant group, Boko Haram, whose name roughly translates to “Western education is a sin,” reportedly claimed responsibility, stating, “Western education should end. Girls, you should go and get married…I will sell them in the marketplace.” In a further alarming development, early in the week of 4 May, suspected Boko Haram gunmen abducted at least eight more girls – some possibly as young as eight years old – from a village in Borno State, Nigeria. On 6 May, the U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights stated that such human rights violations – selling the abducted girls as slaves – could constitute “crimes against humanity.” So far, however, efforts to rescue the girls have fallen desperately short.

TAKE ACTION NOW TO #BRINGBACKOURGIRLS! << Click on this link to send all letters below online.

Women and men across Nigeria and around the world campaigned in the streets and on social media to protest the government’s failure to take action, sparking a global campaign to “Bring Back Our Girls.” Egregiously, it took weeks for Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan to publicly pledge to find the girls, after forming a “fact-finding committee” on 2 May, and reportedly, Nigerian First Lady, Patience Jonathan, ordered the arrest of protest leaders campaigning in support of the girls and their families on 5 May (on 6 May the President accepted international support to assist in the search).

Gender-based violence in Nigeria is on the rise and similar abductions have occurred in the past. Our Nigerian partner Women's Rights Advancement and Protection Alternative (WRAPA) is very concerned that they will continue to occur until Nigeria prioritizes and acts to protect the safety and rights of girls, particularly those in conflict regions. The failure to do so sends the message that girls and women can be bought and sold and used as political currency with impunity.

Nigeria has ratified international and regional human rights instruments that affirm the State’s responsibility to protect women and girls from sexual violence, including the Protocol on the Rights of Women in Africa (Maputo Protocol), the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child, the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, and the Convention on the Rights of the Child. These instruments specifically call on Nigeria to protect girls from trafficking and harmful cultural practices, including child marriage, and to ensure that girls’ right to education is upheld.

Until and unless the Nigerian government and other actors in the conflict in Nigeria place greater value on the worth of girls and women as human beings and take comprehensive measures to protect them from all forms of violence, they will face an ongoing and heightened risk of such abuses.

What You Can Do: 

TAKE ACTION NOW TO #BRINGBACKOURGIRLS! << Click on this link to send all letters below online.

Please join Equality Now and our Nigerian partners, WRAPA, Echoes of Women in Africa, Women for Justice and Peace, and Alliances for Africa, in urgently calling on the Government of Nigeria to: 

  • Take immediate action to locate and rescue the girls and provide them with support services upon their return
  • Prosecute those responsible for the girls’ abduction and exploitation
  • Take steps to protect schools from attacks so that they are safe places to learn
  • Immediately institute, in consultation with women’s rights organizations, measures to protect the safety and human rights of women and girls throughout Nigeria, which are further endangered by the volatile political situation in the conflict areas

Additionally, call on the Governments of Cameroon and Chad to swiftly determine whether the girls were transported into their countries and to assist in their rescue.

(You can also re-tweet and share messages from our Twitter or Facebook pages in the global #BringBackOurGirls campaign.)

LETTER #1

H.E. President Goodluck Jonathan
President of  Nigeria
Aso Rock Presidential Villa
Abuja, Nigeria
cc: Permanent Mission of Nigeria to the United Nations
Email: permny@nigeriaunmission.org

Comrade Abba Moro
Minister Of Interior
Block F, Old Secretariat, Garki Area 1, PMB 7007, Garki, Abuja, Nigeria
Email: info@interior.gov.ng

Aliyu Gusau
Minister of Defense
Ship House, Area 10, Garki, Abuja, Nigeria
Fax:  +234 9 234 0714

Mohammed Bello Adoke
Attorney General
Federal Ministry of Justice
Shehu Shagari Way, Central Area
Abuja, Nigeria
Telephone: +234 9 523 5208
Fax: +234 9 523 5194
Email: info@justice.gov.ng

Hon. Aminu Tambuwal
Speaker of the House of Representatives of the National Assembly of Nigeria
National Assembly Complex
Three Arms Zone
Abuja, Nigeria
Email: hon.aminu.tambuwal@nass.gov.ng
Twitter: @SpeakerTambuwal

Hajiya Zainab Maina
Minister of Women Affairs
Federal Ministry of Women Affairs
Annex 3, New Federal Secretariat, Shehu Shagari Way, Central Area, P.M.B. 229 Garki
Abuja, Nigeria
Fax: +234 9 5233644
enquiries@womenaffairs.gov.ng

Dr. James N. Obiegbu
Permanent Secretary
Federal Ministry of Police Affairs,
8th Fl., Federal Secretariat Complex, Shehu Shagari Way,
Maitama
Abuja, Nigeria
emergency@policeaffairs.gov.ng

Senator David Mark
President of the Senate of the National Assembly of Nigeria
National Assembly Complex
Three Arms Zone
Abuja, Nigeria
hon.david.mark@nass.gov.ng

LETTER #2

H.E. President Paul Biya
President of the Republic of Cameroon
P.O. Box 1000
Yaoundé, Cameroon
cellcom@prc.cm
@PR_Paul_Biya
cc: Permanent Mission of Cameroon to the United Nations
cameroon.mission@yahoo.com

H.E. President Idriss Déby
President of Chad
P.O. Box 74
N’Djamena, Chad
Tel: +235 514 437
Fax: +235 514 501
cc: Permanent Mission of Chad to the United Nations
chadmission@gmail.com

Letters: 

LETTER #1

Dear President, Minister, Attorney General, Permanent Secretary, Senator, Speaker

I urge you to listen to the people protesting in Nigeria – and around the globe – and  take immediate action to “Bring Back Our Girls.” Every day they remain missing puts them at greater risk.

The abduction of nearly 300 Chibok schoolgirls by Boko Haram in April, eight more girls in May, and the reported sale of some of the girls into marriage and sexual slavery, constitute egregious human rights violations. According to the U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights, it may also constitute a crime against humanity. So far, your efforts to rescue the girls have fallen desperately short, which sends the message that girls and women can be sold, commodified, and used as political currency. Until and unless the Nigerian government and other actors in the conflict in Nigeria place greater value on the worth of girls and women as human beings, and take comprehensive measures to protect them from all forms of violence,  they will face an ongoing and heightened risk of such abuses.

Nigeria has ratified several international and regional human rights instruments that affirm the State’s responsibility to protect women and girls from all forms of gender based violence, and specifically call on Nigeria to protect girls from trafficking and harmful practices such as child marriage. They also require that  girls’ rights to education be  upheld.

I join Equality Now, Women’s Rights Advancement and Protection Alternative , Echoes of Women in Africa, Women for Justice and Peace, and Alliances for Africa, in calling on you to ensure the safety of girls and women in the current conflict in Nigeria by:

1.    Taking immediate action to locate and rescue the missing girls and providing rehabilitation and support for them upon their return;
2.    Prosecuting those responsible for their abduction and exploitation;
3.    Take steps to protect schools from attacks so that they are safe places to learn; and by
4.    Immediately instituting, in consultation with local women’s rights organizations, measures to protect the safety and human rights of women and girls throughout the country, which are further endangered by the volatile political situation in conflict areas in Nigeria.
 
Thank you for your urgent attention.

Yours sincerely,
 


 LETTER #2

Dear President,

According to reports, some of the nearly 300 Nigerian schoolgirls that were abducted in April by Boko Haram  may have been brought into your country and subjected to sexual slavery and forced marriage. I therefore strongly  urge you to  take immediate action to assist in locating and  rescuing the girls. Every day they remain missing puts them at greater risk.

The abduction and trafficking of   the Chibok schoolgirls and the eight additional  girls who were kidnapped in May in Borno State, Nigeria, constitute egregious human rights violations. According to the U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights, selling the girls into slavery could also constitute crimes against humanity. So far, the efforts to rescue the girls have fallen desperately short, which sends the message that girls and women can be sold, commodified, and used as political currency.

I join Equality Now, Women’s Rights Advancement and Protection Alternative , Echoes of Women in Africa, Women for Justice and Peace, and Alliances for Africa, in calling on you to take immediate action to assist Nigeria in the locating and  safe return of the girls and the prosecution and/or extradition of those responsible for their abduction and exploitation.

Your country  has ratified several international and regional human rights instruments that affirm the State’s responsibility to protect women and girls from all forms of gender based violence, and specifically call for the protection of girls from trafficking and harmful practices such as child marriage. I respectfully ask that you honor your country’s obligations.

Thank you for your urgent attention.

Yours sincerely,