أفغانستان: وفروا الحماية للنساء والفتيات من العنف. لا توقعوا على القانون الجديد الذي يؤدي لتراجع حقوق المرأة

نسخة للطباعة
تاريخ: 
2014 Feb 11

التشريع الجديد الذي أقره البرلمان الأفغاني مؤخرا يهدد بالخطر سلامة وأمن المرأة والفتاة الأفغانية. وإذا تم توقيعه ليصبح قانونا، فستكون الآثار المترتبة عليه مدمرة - إذ يمكن أن تقع حالات الاغتصاب والضرب والقتل "دفاعا عن الشرف" مع الإفلات نسبيا من العقاب، ويمكن للآباء بسهولة أكبر ترتيب الزيجات للأطفال، ولن تكون أمام النساء والفتيات فرصة تذكر للحصول على العدالة فيما تتعرضن له من عنف. فإذا تعرضت المرأة أو الفتاة لاعتداء من أحد أقاربها، لن يتم منعها من الإدلاء بشهادتها ضد المعتدي عليها فحسب، بل إن أي قريب آخر للمتهم ممن شهدوا الاعتداء سيُمنع أيضا من الشهادة.

"إن إسكات الشهود، الذين لا يقتصرون على أقارب المتهمين …  يفعل أكثر من مجرد السماح لهذه الأفعال بأن ترتكب مع الإفلات من العقاب. فهو يشجع على ارتكابها" – منظمة النساء من أجل المرأة الأفغانية 

إتخاذ إجراء!

 وهذا التشريع الآن أمام الرئيس حامد كرزاي ليقوم بتوقيعه. يرجى القيام بعمل اليوم!

لقد كافحت المرأة الأفغانية من أجل المساواة في الحقوق والحماية بموجب القانون، وهي في خطر وشيك من فقدان المكاسب التي تحققت بشق النفس. ويرجى منكم الوقوف إلى جانب المساواة الآن وشريكتنا منظمة النساء من أجل المرأة الأفغانية، في مطالبة الرئيس كرزاي على وجه السرعة بعدم التوقيع على هذا المشروع وجعله قانونا.

ما الذي يمكنك أن تفعله: 

إتخاذ إجراء!

 وهذا التشريع الآن أمام الرئيس حامد كرزاي ليقوم بتوقيعه. يرجى القيام بعمل اليوم!

1) حث الرئيس كرزاي على عدم التوقيع على مشروع قانون الإجراءات الجنائية الجديد وإصداره كقانون، تماشيا مع التزامات أفغانستان الدولية والدستورية بحماية حقوق المرأة وكفالة المساواة في الحقوق للنساء بموجب القانون.

الرئيس قرضاي
القصر الجمهوري
كابول
أفغانستان
رقم الهاتف: 2853 210 (20) 93 +، 3705 210 (20) 93 +، 3705 210 (20) 93
البريد الإلكتروني: president.pressoffice@gmail.com.

2) التوقيع على الالتماس المقدم من منظمة  النساء من أجل المرأة الأفغانية إلى كل من الرئيس أوباما والوزير كيري لمطالبة حكومة الولايات المتحدة، وهي تعد العدة لانسحاب القوات، بالتمسك بوعدها بعدم التخلي عن المرأة الأفغانية. 

3) المساعدة على التعريف بهذا الموضوع على نطاق واسع! ويرجى أن تطلعوا شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي على هذا التنبيه، وأن تبثوا التغريدات بالرسالة التالية إلى الرئيس.

@ARG_AFG Protect the human rights of Afghan women and girls. Don’t sign the new criminal code into law. #VAW

رسائل: 

فخامة الرئيس كرزاي،

يساورني بالغ القلق إزاء مشروع القانون الجنائي الجديد، الذي أقره كل من مجلسي البرلمان، والذي من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى انحسار أشكال الحماية القانونية الهامة للنساء والفتيات. وأحثكم على عدم التوقيع عليه ليصبح قانونا .

وأفهم أن المادة 26 (4) من مشروع قانون الإجراءات الجنائية الجديد تمنع أقارب المتهم بالاعتداء الذين شهدوا جرائمه من الإدلاء بشهادتهم في المحكمة، وإن كان ذلك طوعا. وهذا من شأنه توفير الإفلات الفعلي من العقاب لمن ينتهكون حقوق النساء و الفتيات بما في ذلك من يخضعونهن للعنف المنزلي و/أو الزواج القسري و/ أو زواج الأطفال، والاتجار بالبشر.

لقد صدقت أفغانستان على كل من اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة واتفاقية حقوق الطفل اللتين تدعوان إلى توفير الحماية للنساء والفتيات على قدم المساواة، بما في ذلك الحماية من العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي. ونحن نحثكم على الامتثال لالتزاماتكم القانونية الدولية، وذلك بطرق منها إنفاذ قانون عام 2009 بشأن القضاء على العنف ضد المرأة، والمطالبة بتنقيح التشريع الجديد.

شكرا لكم على اهتمامكم .

وتقبلوا فائق الاحترام والتقدير،

Afghanistan: Protect women & girls from violence. Don’t sign new law rolling back women’s rights.

Printer-friendly version
Date: 
11 Feb 2014

17 FEBRUARY 2014 UPDATE:  Your voices were heard! Following intense international advocacy, Afghan President Hamid Karzai has reportedly ordered changes to the new proposed legislation that is threatening the safety and rights of Afghan women and girls. On 17 February, Karzai’s spokesperson is said to have stated that the new “Afghan criminal prosecution code won't come into force unless new amendments are made." Specifically, rewrites were requested to allow a woman or girl who was assaulted by a relative, as well as any close relatives who may have witnessed the attack, to be able to testify against the attacker (Article 26).

Equality Now and our partner, Women for Afghan Women, welcome this news but until the official revisions are made available for review, please continue to keep up the pressure to stop signature of this bill into law.


New legislation recently passed by the Afghan parliament is threatening the safety and security of Afghan women and girls. If signed into law, the effects would be devastating – rapes, beatings and “honor” killings could occur with relative impunity, fathers could more easily arrange child marriages and women and girls would have little chance of getting justice for violence against them. If a woman or girl is assaulted by a relative, not only would she be prevented from testifying against her attacker, but any other close relative of the accused assailant who was a witness, would also be barred.

Silencing witnesses, who include not only relatives of the accused…does far more than allow these acts to occur with impunity. It encourages them to take place,” says Women for Afghan Women.

TAKE ACTION NOW! << The legislation is with President Hamid Karzai for his signature. Please Take Action today!

Afghan women have been fighting for equal rights and protection under the law, and they are in imminent danger of losing their hard won gains. Please stand with Equality Now and our partner, Women for Afghan Women, in urgently calling on President Karzai to not sign the code into law.
 

What You Can Do: 

TAKE ACTION NOW! << The legislation is with President Hamid Karzai for his signature. Please Take Action today!

1) Urge President Karzai not to sign the new criminal procedure code into law in line with Afghanistan’s international and constitutional commitments to protect women’s rights and ensure equal rights for women under the law.

President Karzai
Presidential Palace
Kabul
Afghanistan
Tel:  +93 (20) 210 2853, +93 (20) 210 3705, +93 (20) 210 3705
Email: president.pressoffice@gmail.com

2)  Sign Women for Afghan Women’s petition to President Obama and Secretary Kerry calling on the United States government to live up to its promise to not abandon Afghan women as it prepares for troop withdrawal.

3) Help spread the word! Share this Alert with your networks and tweet the following message to the President. You can also retweet from @equalitynow.

@ARG_AFG Protect the human rights of Afghan women and girls. Don’t sign the new criminal code into law. #VAW

Letters: 

Dear President Karzai,

I am deeply concerned about the new criminal procedure code, passed by both houses of Parliament, which would erode important legal protections for women and girls. I urge you not to sign it into law.

I understand that Article 26(4) of the new criminal procedure code prevents relatives of the accused assailant who are witnesses to these crimes from testifying in court, even voluntarily. This would effectively provide impunity for those who violate women’s and girls’ rights including those who subject them to domestic violence, forced and/or child marriage, and trafficking.

Afghanistan has ratified both the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) and the Convention on the Rights of the Child which calls for the equal protection of women and girls, including from gender-based violence. We urge you to comply with your international legal obligations, including by enforcing the 2009 Law on the Elimination of Violence against Women and calling for the revision on the new legislation.

Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,