تمثل القوانين والسياسات القوية القائمة على حقوق الإنسان والمساواة بين الجنسين أساس العمل الذي تقوم به المساواة الآن للقضاء على الاتجار بالجنس واستغلاله. وباستهداف جذور المشكلة – متمثلة في الطلب على الجنس المدفوع ثمنه – يمكننا أن نحمي النساء والفتيات. فإذا انعدم الطلب، انعدم العرض.

الاتجار بالبشر: كيف تستغل النساء والفتيات في تجارة الجنس

الاتجار بغرض الاستغلال الجنسي هو أسرع المشاريع الإجرامية نمواً في العالم، وتشكل المرأة والفتاة 98 % من ضحاياه. وبالرغم من أن القانون الدولي وقوانين 134 بلداً تجرّم الاتجار بالجنس، فمن الأمور التي لا تزال مقبولة قانوناً واجتماعياً أن تعامل النساء والفتيات بوصفهن سلعة تباع وتشترى.

وتوجد في كثير من البلدان قوانين إما تجرّم تماماً تجارة الجنس أو تمتنع عن تجريمها أو تضفي عليها الصفة القانونية بطرق ضارة: فهي إما أن تعاقب الذين يجري استغلالهم، أو تشجع علانية استغلالهن وتهيء للمتجرين والقوادين وأصحاب بيوت الدعارة ومن يشترون الجنس بيئة أكثر أمناً يعملون فيها.

عناصر الاتجار بالجنس

الفعل: تجنيد الأشخاص أو نقلهم أو إحالتهم أو إيواؤهم أو تسلمهم؛

الوسيلة: استخدام القوة أو التهديد باستخدامها، أو القسر، أو الاختطاف، أو الغش، أو الخداع، أو استغلال السلطة أو الضعف، أو دفع مبالغ أو منح مزايا للأشخاص الذين يتحكمون في الضحايا؛

الغرض: تحويل الآخرين إلى بغايا، أو الاستغلال الجنسي، أو السخرة أو تقديم الخدمات قسراً، أو الاستعباد

- من بروتوكول الأمم المتحدة الصادر في عام 2000 بشأن منع وقمع الاتجار بالأشخاص لا سيما النساء والأطفال والمعاقبة عليه، الذي تم تصديق 154 بلداً عليه.

 

كيف تعمل المساواة الآن من أجل القضاء على الاتجار بالجنس

"من الضروري أن يتغير فهم المجتمع للاتجار والبغاء ... إن النساء بشر، ولسن سلعاً تباع وتشترى".
-  ألما، من الفلبين، ضحية سابقة/ناشطة ومشتركة في تأسيس مركز "بوكولد"

هناك أعداد لا تحصى من النساء والفتيات يجري شراؤهن وبيعهن كل عام في صناعة الجنس التجاري، أي البغاء، الذي كثيراً ما يكون المقصد النهائي للاتجار بالجنس. وبدون تجارة الجنس لا توجد صناعة يتم في ظلها الاتجار بالنساء والفتيات، ولذلك فإن الجهود المبذولة للتصدي للاتجار بالجنس لا بد أيضاً من أن تتصدى للبغاء.

وتمارس المساواة الآن الضغط من أجل إصدار قوانين تتصدى لكل من الذين يتربحون من هذه الجريمة – وهم المتجرون بالجنس، وأصحاب دور البغاء، ومنظمو سياحة الجنس، والقوّادين – وكذلك لمن يغذّونها ويدعمونها بطلبهم عليها: أي المشترون. ومساءلة من يشترون الجنس التجاري تحدً من الاتجار بالجنس. ونحن كذلك نقدم الدعم للمجموعات الشعبية التي تعمل على استئصال الاتجار بالجنس من بلادها.

عربية
Hero Title: 
للقضاء على الاتجار بالجنس
Body Top: 

الاتجار بالبشر: كيف تستغل النساء والفتيات في تجارة الجنس

الاتجار بغرض الاستغلال الجنسي هو أسرع المشاريع الإجرامية نمواً في العالم، وتشكل المرأة والفتاة 98 % من ضحاياه. وبالرغم من أن القانون الدولي وقوانين 134 بلداً تجرّم الاتجار بالجنس، فمن الأمور التي لا تزال مقبولة قانوناً واجتماعياً أن تعامل النساء والفتيات بوصفهن سلعة تباع وتشترى.

وتوجد في كثير من البلدان قوانين إما تجرّم تماماً تجارة الجنس أو تمتنع عن تجريمها أو تضفي عليها الصفة القانونية بطرق ضارة: فهي إما أن تعاقب الذين يجري استغلالهم، أو تشجع علانية استغلالهن وتهيء للمتجرين والقوادين وأصحاب بيوت الدعارة ومن يشترون الجنس بيئة أكثر أمناً يعملون فيها.

عناصر الاتجار بالجنس

الفعل: تجنيد الأشخاص أو نقلهم أو إحالتهم أو إيواؤهم أو تسلمهم؛

الوسيلة: استخدام القوة أو التهديد باستخدامها، أو القسر، أو الاختطاف، أو الغش، أو الخداع، أو استغلال السلطة أو الضعف، أو دفع مبالغ أو منح مزايا للأشخاص الذين يتحكمون في الضحايا؛

الغرض: تحويل الآخرين إلى بغايا، أو الاستغلال الجنسي، أو السخرة أو تقديم الخدمات قسراً، أو الاستعباد

- من بروتوكول الأمم المتحدة الصادر في عام 2000 بشأن منع وقمع الاتجار بالأشخاص لا سيما النساء والأطفال والمعاقبة عليه، الذي تم تصديق 154 بلداً عليه.

 

كيف تعمل المساواة الآن من أجل القضاء على الاتجار بالجنس

"من الضروري أن يتغير فهم المجتمع للاتجار والبغاء ... إن النساء بشر، ولسن سلعاً تباع وتشترى".
-  ألما، من الفلبين، ضحية سابقة/ناشطة ومشتركة في تأسيس مركز "بوكولد"

هناك أعداد لا تحصى من النساء والفتيات يجري شراؤهن وبيعهن كل عام في صناعة الجنس التجاري، أي البغاء، الذي كثيراً ما يكون المقصد النهائي للاتجار بالجنس. وبدون تجارة الجنس لا توجد صناعة يتم في ظلها الاتجار بالنساء والفتيات، ولذلك فإن الجهود المبذولة للتصدي للاتجار بالجنس لا بد أيضاً من أن تتصدى للبغاء.

وتمارس المساواة الآن الضغط من أجل إصدار قوانين تتصدى لكل من الذين يتربحون من هذه الجريمة – وهم المتجرون بالجنس، وأصحاب دور البغاء، ومنظمو سياحة الجنس، والقوّادين – وكذلك لمن يغذّونها ويدعمونها بطلبهم عليها: أي المشترون. ومساءلة من يشترون الجنس التجاري تحدً من الاتجار بالجنس. ونحن كذلك نقدم الدعم للمجموعات الشعبية التي تعمل على استئصال الاتجار بالجنس من بلادها.

Body Bottom: 

وتدعو المساواة الآن للأخذ بنموذج بلدان الشمال الأوروبي (أو نموذج المساواة)،  وهو إطار قانوني يقوم على ما يلي:

  • تجريم من يستغلون الأشخاص بغرض الربح، بما في ذلك من يشترون الجنس، ومن يتجرون فيه، والقوادون، وأصحاب دور البغاء
  • رفع التجريم عن المشتغلات بالبغاء، بمن فيهن ضحايا الاتجار، وتزويدهن بخدمات الدعم – بما يشمل الدعم لكي يتركن البغاء إذا رغبن في ذلك
  • الاعتراف بأنه لولا الطلب (المشترين)، لن تكون هناك ’حاجة إلى عرض‘ وبالتالي تجريم الطلب على الجنس التجاري الذي يغذي البغاء والاتجار بالنساء لإدخالهن فيه

 

تكوين شراكة مع الضحايا الناجيات

إن الضحايا اللائي أفلتن من الاتجار بالجنس هن الخبيرات الحقيقيات؛ فهن تجسّدن هذا الانتهاك الجسيم لحقوق الإنسان، وتبطلن الأساطير المتعلقة به، وتحفزن على العمل. والتعلم من تجارب الضحايا الناجيات عامل رئيسي في تشكيل السياسات العامة وتغيير الاتجاهات  المتعلقة بالاتجار بالجنس والبغاء.  وتدعم المساواة الآن الجماعات التي تتمركز حول تجارب الضحايا الناجيات وتشترك معها في الدعوة.

Stand-first: 

تمثل القوانين والسياسات القوية القائمة على حقوق الإنسان والمساواة بين الجنسين أساس العمل الذي تقوم به المساواة الآن للقضاء على الاتجار بالجنس واستغلاله. وباستهداف جذور المشكلة – متمثلة في الطلب على الجنس المدفوع ثمنه – يمكننا أن نحمي النساء والفتيات. فإذا انعدم الطلب، انعدم العرض.

وتدعو المساواة الآن للأخذ بنموذج بلدان الشمال الأوروبي (أو نموذج المساواة)،  وهو إطار قانوني يقوم على ما يلي:

  • تجريم من يستغلون الأشخاص بغرض الربح، بما في ذلك من يشترون الجنس، ومن يتجرون فيه، والقوادون، وأصحاب دور البغاء
  • رفع التجريم عن المشتغلات بالبغاء، بمن فيهن ضحايا الاتجار، وتزويدهن بخدمات الدعم – بما يشمل الدعم لكي يتركن البغاء إذا رغبن في ذلك
  • الاعتراف بأنه لولا الطلب (المشترين)، لن تكون هناك ’حاجة إلى عرض‘ وبالتالي تجريم الطلب على الجنس التجاري الذي يغذي البغاء والاتجار بالنساء لإدخالهن فيه

 

تكوين شراكة مع الضحايا الناجيات

إن الضحايا اللائي أفلتن من الاتجار بالجنس هن الخبيرات الحقيقيات؛ فهن تجسّدن هذا الانتهاك الجسيم لحقوق الإنسان، وتبطلن الأساطير المتعلقة به، وتحفزن على العمل. والتعلم من تجارب الضحايا الناجيات عامل رئيسي في تشكيل السياسات العامة وتغيير الاتجاهات  المتعلقة بالاتجار بالجنس والبغاء.  وتدعم المساواة الآن الجماعات التي تتمركز حول تجارب الضحايا الناجيات وتشترك معها في الدعوة.

Strong human rights and gender equality-based laws and policies are the basis of Equality Now’s work to end sex trafficking and exploitation. By targeting the root of the problem – the demand for paid sex – we can protect women and girls. No demand, no supply.
 

Human trafficking: how women and girls are exploited in the sex trade

Trafficking for sexual exploitation is the fastest growing criminal enterprise in the world, with women and girls making up 98% of its victims. Though international law and the laws of 134 countries criminalize sex trafficking, it is still legally and socially acceptable to treat women and girls as merchandise.

Many countries have laws that either fully criminalize, decriminalize or legalize the sex trade in harmful ways: either they punish those who are being exploited, or openly promote their exploitation and give traffickers, pimps, brothel-owners and sex buyers a safer environment in which to operate.

Elements of Sex Trafficking

Act: Recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring or receipt of persons;

Means: Threat or use of force, coercion, abduction, fraud, deception, abuse of power or vulnerability, or giving payments or benefits to a person in control of the victim;

Purpose: Prostitution of others, sexual exploitation, forced labor or services, or slavery.

- From the 2000 UN Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons, Especially Women and Children, ratified by 154 countries.

 

How Equality Now works to end sex trafficking

“Society’s understanding of human trafficking and prostitution needs to change… Women are human beings, not commodities to be bought and sold.”
– Alma, Philippines, survivor/ activist and Buklod Center co-founder

Countless women and girls are bought and sold every year in the commercial sex trade, i.e. prostitution, which is often the end destination of sex trafficking. Without the sex trade, there would be no industry to traffic women and girls into, so efforts to address sex trafficking must also address prostitution.

Equality Now pushes for laws that address both those who profit from this crime – sex traffickers, brothel owners, sex tour operators and pimps – and also those who fuel and prop it up with their demand: the buyers. Holding buyers of commercial sex accountable reduces sex trafficking. We also support grassroots groups working to end sex trafficking in their countries.

English
Hero Title: 
End Sex Trafficking
Body Top: 

Human trafficking: how women and girls are exploited in the sex trade

Trafficking for sexual exploitation is the fastest growing criminal enterprise in the world, with women and girls making up 98% of its victims. Though international law and the laws of 134 countries criminalize sex trafficking, it is still legally and socially acceptable to treat women and girls as merchandise.

Many countries have laws that either fully criminalize, decriminalize or legalize the sex trade in harmful ways: either they punish those who are being exploited, or openly promote their exploitation and give traffickers, pimps, brothel-owners and sex buyers a safer environment in which to operate.

Elements of Sex Trafficking

Act: Recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring or receipt of persons;

Means: Threat or use of force, coercion, abduction, fraud, deception, abuse of power or vulnerability, or giving payments or benefits to a person in control of the victim;

Purpose: Prostitution of others, sexual exploitation, forced labor or services, or slavery.

- From the 2000 UN Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons, Especially Women and Children, ratified by 154 countries.

 

How Equality Now works to end sex trafficking

“Society’s understanding of human trafficking and prostitution needs to change… Women are human beings, not commodities to be bought and sold.”
– Alma, Philippines, survivor/ activist and Buklod Center co-founder

Countless women and girls are bought and sold every year in the commercial sex trade, i.e. prostitution, which is often the end destination of sex trafficking. Without the sex trade, there would be no industry to traffic women and girls into, so efforts to address sex trafficking must also address prostitution.

Equality Now pushes for laws that address both those who profit from this crime – sex traffickers, brothel owners, sex tour operators and pimps – and also those who fuel and prop it up with their demand: the buyers. Holding buyers of commercial sex accountable reduces sex trafficking. We also support grassroots groups working to end sex trafficking in their countries.

Body Bottom: 

Equality Now advocates for the Nordic Model (or Equality Model), a legal framework that:

  • Criminalizes those who exploit people for profit, including sex buyers, traffickers, pimps and brothel-keepers
  • Decriminalizes people in prostitution, including victims of trafficking, and provides them with support services – including to leave prostitution if they wish to do so
  • Recognizes that without demand (buyers), there would be no ‘need for a supply’ and therefore, criminalizes the demand for commercial sex that fuels prostitution and trafficking into prostitution

 

Partnering with Survivors

Survivors of sex trafficking are the real experts; they put a human face to this grave human rights violation, dispel myths and inspire action. Learning from survivors’ experiences is key to shaping policy and changing attitudes on human trafficking and prostitution. Equality Now supports and advocates with groups that center on survivors’ experiences.

Stand-first: 

Strong human rights and gender equality-based laws and policies are the basis of Equality Now’s work to end sex trafficking and exploitation. By targeting the root of the problem – the demand for paid sex – we can protect women and girls. No demand, no supply.
 

Add Resources: 
Author: 
Equality Now
Author: 
Equality Now
Author: 
Equality Now

Equality Now advocates for the Nordic Model (or Equality Model), a legal framework that:

  • Criminalizes those who exploit people for profit, including sex buyers, traffickers, pimps and brothel-keepers
  • Decriminalizes people in prostitution, including victims of trafficking, and provides them with support services – including to leave prostitution if they wish to do so
  • Recognizes that without demand (buyers), there would be no ‘need for a supply’ and therefore, criminalizes the demand for commercial sex that fuels prostitution and trafficking into prostitution

 

Partnering with Survivors

Survivors of sex trafficking are the real experts; they put a human face to this grave human rights violation, dispel myths and inspire action. Learning from survivors’ experiences is key to shaping policy and changing attitudes on human trafficking and prostitution. Equality Now supports and advocates with groups that center on survivors’ experiences.