تتصدى المساواة الآن لسياحة الجنس، وهي قضية عالمية تتجاوز الحدود الوطنية وحدود الدول. و"سياح الجنس" يسافرون لابتياعه من النساء والفتيات المستضعفات، وفي كثير من الأحيان من المجتمعات الفقيرة والمهمّشة.

التصدي لسياحة الجنس من خلال القانون

كانت المساواة الآن من أولى منظمات حقوق الإنسان التي أدركت الدور الذي تلعبه سياحة الجنس في الاتجار بالبشر، وركزت على إغلاق الشركات التي تدير ذلك النوع من السياحة. ففي عام 2001، كنا على رأس ائتلاف يعمل من أجل إصدار  بروتوكول باليرمو، وهو الدليل الرائد إلى مكافحة الاتجار ، الذي يتضمن أحكاماً بشأن سياحة الجنس على وجه التحديد.

وفي الولايات المتحدة، أدت الدعوة التي نقوم بها إلى كثير من الإجراءات التي تتخذ لأول مرة على مستوى الولايات وعلى المستوى الاتحادي.

تتصدى المساواة الآن لسياحة الجنس، وهي قضية عالمية تتجاوز الحدود الوطنية وحدود الدول

عربية
Campaign Image: 
Campaign Image - Small: 
Hero Title: 
القضاء على سياحة الجنس
Stand-first: 

تتصدى المساواة الآن لسياحة الجنس، وهي قضية عالمية تتجاوز الحدود الوطنية وحدود الدول. و"سياح الجنس" يسافرون لابتياعه من النساء والفتيات المستضعفات، وفي كثير من الأحيان من المجتمعات الفقيرة والمهمّشة.

Body Top: 

التصدي لسياحة الجنس من خلال القانون

كانت المساواة الآن من أولى منظمات حقوق الإنسان التي أدركت الدور الذي تلعبه سياحة الجنس في الاتجار بالبشر، وركزت على إغلاق الشركات التي تدير ذلك النوع من السياحة. ففي عام 2001، كنا على رأس ائتلاف يعمل من أجل إصدار  بروتوكول باليرمو، وهو الدليل الرائد إلى مكافحة الاتجار ، الذي يتضمن أحكاماً بشأن سياحة الجنس على وجه التحديد.

وفي الولايات المتحدة، أدت الدعوة التي نقوم بها إلى كثير من الإجراءات التي تتخذ لأول مرة على مستوى الولايات وعلى المستوى الاتحادي.

Body Bottom: 

التأثير الذي نحدثه: القضاء على سياحة الجنس

1996: نتحدى شركة بيج آبل أورينتال تورز لسياحة الجنس

نشن حملة لإغلاق بيج آبل أورينتال تورز، وهي شركة مقرها نيويورك كانت تستغل النساء والفتيات في الفلبين وتايلند. وفي عام 2007، دفعت جهودنا نيويورك إلى إصدار قانونها المتعلق بمكافحة الاتجار، الذي يعطي الشرطة الأدوات اللازمة لملاحقة منظمي رحلات الجنس. وبعد تحقيقات كثيرة، نساعد على إدانة أحد أصحاب الشركة وهو دوجلاس آلان بتهمة الترويج للبغاء في عام 2013.

2003: إصدار أول قانون لمكافحة سياحة الجنس في إحدى الولايات المتحدة

نبدأ حملتنا لإغلاق شركة فيديو ترافل لتنظيم سياحة الجنس ومقرها هاواي، وهي شركة كانت تستغل النساء والفتيات في تايلند. وألهمت حملتنا ودعمنا القانوني هاواي أن تصدر أول قانون لإحدى الولايات الأمريكية يقضي بتجريم سياحة الجنس. ومن ثم يلغى تصريح وكالة السياحة الممنوح لصاحب شركة فيديو ترافل ولم يعد مسموحاً لها بالعمل في هاواي.

2005: ندعو حكومة الولايات المتحدة إلى القضاء على سياحة الجنس

ندعو حكومة الولايات المتحدة إلى وقف سياحة الجنس، والتحقيق مع "جي إف تورز"، وهي شركة تستغل النساء في جنوب شرق آسيا. ونمارس الضغط من أجل زيادة تعزيز القوانين الاتحادية لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر، وتجعل من سياحة الجنس جريمة، لكي تقضي بإغلاق تلك الشركة. وبفضل جهودنا، رفعت جي إف تورز المحتوى المصوّر من منشوراتها، ولكن الأمر يتطلب مزيداً من التحقيقات لإغلاقها نهائياً.

2006: أول إدانة قضائية لسياحة الجنس في ولاية نيويورك

توجه المساواة الآن انتباه المدعي العام لحي مانهاتن إلى حالة "جمب أوف دستينيشنز"، وهي شركة لسياحة الجنس مقرها نيويورك وتنظم الرحلات إلى الجمهورية الدومينيكية. وفي عام 2007، وجدت المحكمة صاحب الشركة مذنباً، فأصبحت تلك هي المرة الأولى التي يستخدم فيها قانون حظر البغاء في نيويورك لمحاكمة مدير شركة لرحلات الجنس، وأول إدانة من نوعها في الولايات المتحدة.

2011: مناصرة الفتيات اللائي يتعرضن للاستغلال

نرفع دعوى مدنية في الولايات المتحدة بالنيابة عن الفتيات البرازيليات اللائي كن يتعرضن للاستغلال الجنسي بواسطة مدير شركة لسياحة الجنس مقرها في الولايات المتحدة. وبدعم مجاني من أحد المكاتب القانونية، نرفع أول دعوى مدنية معروفة بموجب قانون حماية ضحايا الاتجار. وفي عام 2015، تمت تسوية القضية. وقد ساعدت الأموال التي دُفعت الفتيات على إعادة بناء حياتهن. ونواصل ملاحقة منظمي رحلات الجنس.

 

التأثير الذي نحدثه: القضاء على سياحة الجنس

1996: نتحدى شركة بيج آبل أورينتال تورز لسياحة الجنس

نشن حملة لإغلاق بيج آبل أورينتال تورز، وهي شركة مقرها نيويورك كانت تستغل النساء والفتيات في الفلبين وتايلند. وفي عام 2007، دفعت جهودنا نيويورك إلى إصدار قانونها المتعلق بمكافحة الاتجار، الذي يعطي الشرطة الأدوات اللازمة لملاحقة منظمي رحلات الجنس. وبعد تحقيقات كثيرة، نساعد على إدانة أحد أصحاب الشركة وهو دوجلاس آلان بتهمة الترويج للبغاء في عام 2013.

2003: إصدار أول قانون لمكافحة سياحة الجنس في إحدى الولايات المتحدة

نبدأ حملتنا لإغلاق شركة فيديو ترافل لتنظيم سياحة الجنس ومقرها هاواي، وهي شركة كانت تستغل النساء والفتيات في تايلند. وألهمت حملتنا ودعمنا القانوني هاواي أن تصدر أول قانون لإحدى الولايات الأمريكية يقضي بتجريم سياحة الجنس. ومن ثم يلغى تصريح وكالة السياحة الممنوح لصاحب شركة فيديو ترافل ولم يعد مسموحاً لها بالعمل في هاواي.

2005: ندعو حكومة الولايات المتحدة إلى القضاء على سياحة الجنس

ندعو حكومة الولايات المتحدة إلى وقف سياحة الجنس، والتحقيق مع "جي إف تورز"، وهي شركة تستغل النساء في جنوب شرق آسيا. ونمارس الضغط من أجل زيادة تعزيز القوانين الاتحادية لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر، وتجعل من سياحة الجنس جريمة، لكي تقضي بإغلاق تلك الشركة. وبفضل جهودنا، رفعت جي إف تورز المحتوى المصوّر من منشوراتها، ولكن الأمر يتطلب مزيداً من التحقيقات لإغلاقها نهائياً.

2006: أول إدانة قضائية لسياحة الجنس في ولاية نيويورك

توجه المساواة الآن انتباه المدعي العام لحي مانهاتن إلى حالة "جمب أوف دستينيشنز"، وهي شركة لسياحة الجنس مقرها نيويورك وتنظم الرحلات إلى الجمهورية الدومينيكية. وفي عام 2007، وجدت المحكمة صاحب الشركة مذنباً، فأصبحت تلك هي المرة الأولى التي يستخدم فيها قانون حظر البغاء في نيويورك لمحاكمة مدير شركة لرحلات الجنس، وأول إدانة من نوعها في الولايات المتحدة.

2011: مناصرة الفتيات اللائي يتعرضن للاستغلال

نرفع دعوى مدنية في الولايات المتحدة بالنيابة عن الفتيات البرازيليات اللائي كن يتعرضن للاستغلال الجنسي بواسطة مدير شركة لسياحة الجنس مقرها في الولايات المتحدة. وبدعم مجاني من أحد المكاتب القانونية، نرفع أول دعوى مدنية معروفة بموجب قانون حماية ضحايا الاتجار. وفي عام 2015، تمت تسوية القضية. وقد ساعدت الأموال التي دُفعت الفتيات على إعادة بناء حياتهن. ونواصل ملاحقة منظمي رحلات الجنس.

Equality Now tackles sex tourism, a global issue that cuts across national borders and state lines. “Sex tourists” travel to buy sex from vulnerable women and girls, often from poor and marginalized communities. 
 

Tackling Sex Tourism Through the Law 

Equality Now was one of the first human rights organizations to recognize the role sex tourism plays in trafficking, and to focus on shutting down sex tour operators. In 2001, we led a coalition for the passage of the Palermo Protocol, the leading international guide to combating trafficking, which specifically includes provisions about sex tourism. 

In the United States, our advocacy has led to a lot of firsts at the state and federal level:

Equality Now's campaign to end sex tourism as a part of our focus on sex trafficking

English
Campaign Image: 
Campaign Image - Mobile: 
Hero Title: 
Ending Sex Tourism
Stand-first: 

Equality Now tackles sex tourism, a global issue that cuts across national borders and state lines. “Sex tourists” travel to buy sex from vulnerable women and girls, often from poor and marginalized communities. 
 

Body Top: 

Tackling Sex Tourism Through the Law 

Equality Now was one of the first human rights organizations to recognize the role sex tourism plays in trafficking, and to focus on shutting down sex tour operators. In 2001, we led a coalition for the passage of the Palermo Protocol, the leading international guide to combating trafficking, which specifically includes provisions about sex tourism. 

In the United States, our advocacy has led to a lot of firsts at the state and federal level:

Body Bottom: 

Our Impact: Ending Sex Tourism

1996: Taking on Big Apple Oriental Tours

We campaign to shut down Big Apple Oriental Tours, a New York City-based company exploiting women and girls in the Philippines and Thailand. In 2007, our efforts lead New York to amend its anti-trafficking law, which gives police the tools to prosecute sex tour operators. After many investigations, we help convict the company’s co-owner Douglas Allen of promoting prostitution in 2013.

2003: Passing First US State Law Against Sex Tourism

We begin our campaign to shut down Hawaii-based sex tour operator Video Travel, a company exploiting women and girls in Thailand. Our campaign and legal support inspires Hawaii to introduce and pass the first state law to criminalize sex tourism. Video Travel’s proprietor has his travel agency license revoked and is no longer allowed to operate in Hawaii. 

2005: Calling on the US Government to End Sex Tourism

We call on the US government to stop sex tourism, and to investigate GF Tours, a company exploiting women in Southeast Asia. We lobby for stronger enforcement of federal anti-trafficking laws, which make sex tourism a crime, to shut them down. Due to our efforts, GF Tours removes graphic content from its materials, but further investigation is needed to shut them down completely.

2006: First Sex Tourism Conviction in New York State

Equality Now brings the case of Jump Off Destinations, a New York-based sex tour operator traveling to  the Dominican Republic, to the attention of the Manhattan District Attorney. In 2007, the owner is found guilty, making this the first time that New York State law prohibiting the promotion of prostitution is used to prosecute a sex tour operator, and the first conviction of its kind in the US.

2011: Standing Up for Exploited Girls

We lead a civil case in the US on behalf of Brazilian girls who were sexually exploited by a US-based sex tour operator. With pro bono support from a law firm, we filed the first known civil action under the Trafficking Victims Protection Act. In 2015, the case is settled. The funds have helped the girls rebuild their lives. We continue to go after sex tour operators.  

Read More: Progress to End Sex Tourism in the Media

 

Add Resources: 
Author: 
Equality Now
Author: 
Equality Now
Author: 
Equality Now

Our Impact: Ending Sex Tourism

1996: Taking on Big Apple Oriental Tours

We campaign to shut down Big Apple Oriental Tours, a New York City-based company exploiting women and girls in the Philippines and Thailand. In 2007, our efforts lead New York to amend its anti-trafficking law, which gives police the tools to prosecute sex tour operators. After many investigations, we help convict the company’s co-owner Douglas Allen of promoting prostitution in 2013.

2003: Passing First US State Law Against Sex Tourism

We begin our campaign to shut down Hawaii-based sex tour operator Video Travel, a company exploiting women and girls in Thailand. Our campaign and legal support inspires Hawaii to introduce and pass the first state law to criminalize sex tourism. Video Travel’s proprietor has his travel agency license revoked and is no longer allowed to operate in Hawaii. 

2005: Calling on the US Government to End Sex Tourism

We call on the US government to stop sex tourism, and to investigate GF Tours, a company exploiting women in Southeast Asia. We lobby for stronger enforcement of federal anti-trafficking laws, which make sex tourism a crime, to shut them down. Due to our efforts, GF Tours removes graphic content from its materials, but further investigation is needed to shut them down completely.

2006: First Sex Tourism Conviction in New York State

Equality Now brings the case of Jump Off Destinations, a New York-based sex tour operator traveling to  the Dominican Republic, to the attention of the Manhattan District Attorney. In 2007, the owner is found guilty, making this the first time that New York State law prohibiting the promotion of prostitution is used to prosecute a sex tour operator, and the first conviction of its kind in the US.

2011: Standing Up for Exploited Girls

We lead a civil case in the US on behalf of Brazilian girls who were sexually exploited by a US-based sex tour operator. With pro bono support from a law firm, we filed the first known civil action under the Trafficking Victims Protection Act. In 2015, the case is settled. The funds have helped the girls rebuild their lives. We continue to go after sex tour operators.  

Read More: Progress to End Sex Tourism in the Media