عربية

في أيار/مايو الماضي، استيقظت "كلوديا" البالغة من العمر 16 عاماً عارية لتجد نفسها أمام مشهد مخيف لما يزيد على 30 رجلاً معهم أسلحة يسخرون منها ويوجهون إليها الشتائم. أصيبت بالرعب، ولكونها لم تجد القدرة على أن تتذكر أكثر من أنها في بيت صديقها، فقد أسرعت بانتزاع بعض الملابس من على الأرض وجرت خارجة. واكتشفت فيما بعد أنه جرى تخديرها واغتصابها على نحو جماعي في موقع يطلق عليه "السلخانة" حين وضع مهاجموها فيديو مهيناً لها على الإنترنت وانتشر في كل مكان.

أثار هذا الاعتداء غضباً شديداً على نطاق العالم، وقامت أربع نساء – غريبات عن كلوديا – بمد يد العون لها، ومساعدتها في الإبلاغ عن الجريمة والحصول على العناية الطبية. ومن دواعي الأسف أن الرد على ذلك تمثل في إلقاء اللوم على الضحية. فقد تجاهلت السلطات تماماً بلاغ كلوديا وعاملتها بدلاً من ذلك كما لو كانت هي المجرمة. بل إن أحد أفراد الشرطة الذكور سألها عما إذا كان قد "أعجبها الجنس الجماعي". ولحسن الحظ أن مجموعة النساء ساعدنها مرة ثانية. ومن ثم عُينت لها محققة جديدة، امرأة هذه المرة، أجرت تحقيقا ً وافياً وأيدت ادعاءها الاغتصاب. وكذلك وفّر مكتب الادعاء العام لولاية ريو دي جانيرو الحماية لكلوديا من الانتقام، بما في ذلك التهديدات "بشيّها في الميكروويف" في حال إبلاغها عن حوادث الاغتصاب، وألقى القبض على اثنين من الرجال.

غير أن سبعة فقط من المشتيه فيهم الذين يقدر عددهم بـ30 شخصاً هم الذين، بعد مرور أشهر على الجريمة، وجه إليهم الاتهام، ومن هؤلاء، لم يُلق القبض إلا على اثنين – هما سرجيو لويز دا سيلفا الأصغر (المعروف أيضاً باسم "دا روسيا") ومويسيز كاميلو دي لوسينا (المعروف باسم "كاناريو"). أما جميع الباقين فما زالوا مطلقي السراح. وتُجمع أكثر الأدلة جدوى عادة في غضون الساعات القليلة التالية للاعتداء. وبالنظر إلى سوء حالة نظم الإبلاغ والافتقار إلى تنسيق الجهود بين الأطباء الشرعيين المحققين في الاعتداء الجنسي وأجهزة إنفاذ الأمن، فقد تكون الفرصة قد ضاعت لجمع أفضل الأدلة. وهذا يقوّض القدرة على الملاحقة القضائية القوية.

وفي هذه الأيام بالذات، وأعين العالم مركزة على البرازيل بمناسبة الألعاب الأولمبية الصيفية، أمام الحكومة فرصة سانحة لاتخاذ موقف عام قوي ضد ثقافة العنف الجنسي التي نكبت بها البرازيل طوال عقود.

ذلك أن العنف الجنسي في البرازيل وضعف التصدي له من الأمور التي تثير القلق الشديد، حيث تقع الاعتداءات في معظم الأحيان على أكثر الناس ضعفاً. وتفيد التقارير بأن نسبة 51 في المائة من حالات الاغتصاب المسجلة ترتكب ضد الفتيات حتى سن 13 عاماً وأن 20 في المائة منها تقريباً ترتكب ضد المراهقات اللائي تتراوح أعمارهن بين 14 و17 عاماً.  وتفيدنا المنظمات الشريكة للمساواة الآن بأن الضحايا البرازيليات تتحملن استجوابات متعددة من أجهزة إنفاذ القانون وتكون هذه الاستجوابات غير مراعية لمشاعرهن في أفضل الظروف، أما في أسوئها، كما في هذه الحالة، فتكون عدائية بشكل صريح. وقد بٌذلت بعض الجهود في البرلمان البرازيلي لمنع النساء من الحصول على أي نوع من الرعاية المتعلقة بالصحة الإنجابية، حتى اللواتي تعرضن للاغتصاب. وبالرغم من أن النساء البرازيليات تواجهن بالفعل قيوداً شديدة في الحصول على الرعاية الإنجابية، فقد كانت هناك دائماً استثناءات قانونية بسبب الاغتصاب. ولذلك فإن هذه المحاولات الجديدة لتقليص حقوق المرأة تبعث على القلق. فالحصول على الإجهاض القانوني في ظل الأوضاع الحالية ليس دائماً متاحاً لضحايا العنف الجنسي. ولا يوجد في البرازيل سوى 37 مركزاً صحياً لتقديم هذه الخدمة لأكثر من 000 5 مدينة. ونظراً لأن هذه المراكز مركزة في المناطق الحضرية الكبيرة، فإن آلاف النساء والفتيات محرومات تماماً من أي موارد في هذا الصدد.

والحلول اللازمة لحماية الضحايا وكفالة العدالة للجميع واضحة:

1-  يجب القبض على مرتكبي الجرائم وتوجيه الاتهام إليهم بالقدر الكامل الذي يتيحه القانون.

2-  يجب أن يوجد تدريب منتظم لأجهزة إنفاذ القانون وأن تتبع هذه الأجهزة نهجاً يراعي شعور الضحايا في حالات الاعتداء الجنسي.

3-  يجب أن يوفر المسعفون الأول فحوص الطب الجنائي دون إبطاء أو معوّقات إجرائية.

4-  يجب أن تزيد الحكومات الخدمات المقدمة لمساعدة الضحايا من خلال عملية العدالة الجنائية، لكي لا يتركن لتدبُّر شؤونهن بأنفسهن.

ويقع على البرازيل التزام بموجب القانون الدولي بأن تتصدى للعنف الجنسي، ولا سيما في إطار المادة 7 من اتفاقية بيليم دو بارا التي تلزم الدول بمنع العنف المرتكب ضد المرأة والمعاقبة عليه. وكما أكدت محكمة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان (قضية كامبو ألجودونيرو ضد المكسيكالإفلات من العقاب على أعمال العنف المرتكبة ضد المرأة يعزز رسالة مؤداها أنه مقبول ويمكن التسامح معه. ولهذا أيضاً أصداء في التوصية العامة 33 للجنة المعنية بالقضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة بشأن سبل الحصول على العدالة، مما يستدعي المساءلة في النظم القضائية، وإتاحة طرق الانتصاف للضحايا. ولابد من أن تتاح للضحايا سبل اللجوء للقضاء منذ اللحظة التي تبدأ فيها القضية، وأن يتوفر لهن محققون مدربون ومراعون لمشاعرهن حتى يكتمل التحقيق، مع منح التعويضات وتقديم الخدمات التي تساعد الضحايا الناجيات على طريق التعافي. وفي أثناء عمل البرازيل على تحسين الاستجابات للضحايا، يجب أن تقدم أجهزة إنفاذ القوانين جميع الجناة للعدالة.

[TAKE ACTION]

ولو عملت البرازيل، بوصفها أكثر بلدان أمريكا اللاتينية في عدد السكان، على كفالة العدالة لكلوديا لساعدت على توجيه رسالة، ليس فقط في البرازيل وإنما إلى جميع البلاد الأخرى في القارة، مؤداها أن العنف الجنسي يجب أن يعامل بوصفه انتهاكاً جسيماً لحقوق الإنسان. ونرجو الانضمام إلى المساواة الآن وشريكينا، لجنة أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي للدفاع عن حقوق المرأة في البرازيل، ومركز سيرس ر. فانس للعدالة الدولية، في مناشدة حكومة البرازيل القيام بما يلي:

  • القبض على جميع المسؤولين عن اغتصاب كلوديا وعن نشر هذه الجريمة العنيفة على الملأ وتوجيه الاتهام إليهم ومعاقبتهم إلى أقصى حد يتيحه القانون، وإجراء المحاكمة على نحو لا ينطوي على المزيد من إيذائها
  • وضع وإدماج نظم ملائمة للاستجابة، بناء على نهج قائم على حقوق الإنسان ومراعٍ للاعتبارات الجنسانية، لكي ترى الضحايا أن الإبلاغ سيترتب عليه العدل – بما في ذلك تدريب مقدمي الرعاية الصحية والعاملين في النظام القضائي والشرطة.
  • استكشاف جميع سبل التعويض المالي التي تكفل لكلوديا المساعدة على إعادة بناء حياتها

رسالة موجهة إلى الرئيس المؤقت تيمر

الرئيس المؤقت ميشيل تيمر

Palacio do Planalto

Raca dos Tres Poderes

برازيليا
البرازيل
بريد إلكتروني: agendapr@presidencia.gov.br
تويتر: @MichelTemer
فيسبوك: https://www.facebook.com/MichelTemer

All letters: 
4000
Type of action: 
Categories new : 
Hero image: 
Hero subtitle: 
يجب على البرازيل أن تفي بالتزاماتها بحماية النساء والفتيات من العنف الجنسي
Letter Body: 

عزيزي فخامة الرئيس المؤقت تيمر

لقد أصيب العالم بالفزع حين سمع بالاغتصاب الجماعي لـ"كلوديا" في آيار/مايو، ولكنه ازداد غضباً حين سمع عن الكيفية التي عاملها بها أول المسعفين في نظام العدالة. وبالنظر إلى أن صور هذا الاغتصاب قد ظهرت على الإنترنت، فلا بد من أن كلوديا تتحمل هذه الاعتداءات المرة تلو المرة. فشكراً لكم على عرضكم تقديم الحماية لكلوديا واتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لضمان العدالة في حالتها. والآن، يجب أن تتأكدوا من القبض على جميع الجناة الباقين في هذه القضية.

فمن حق النساء والفتيات أن يعشن حياتهن دون أن تتعرضن للعنف. وفي البرازيل تكفل لهن تلك الحقوق بموجب اتفاقية بيليم دو بارا، وبخاصة المادة 7. أما التنحية باللوم على الضحية وسوء التنسيق القانوني والمتابعة القانونية، كما حدث في حالة كلوديا، فينتج عنهما نقص عام في الإبلاغ عن الاغتصاب واستمرار العنف. وتتساءل الضحايا عن كيفية المسير قدما إذا واجهن عوائق تحول دون العدالة. فيجب على البرازيل أن تتخذ الخطوات اللازمة لتغيير هذا المناخ من الإفلات من العقاب إزاء العنف المرتكب ضد المرأة والفتاة.

وإذا ما كفلت البرازيل العدالة لكلوديا فإنها، بوصفها أكثر بلاد أمريكا اللاتينية في عدد السكان، ستعمل بمثابة رادع  في الداخل وتساعد على توجيه رسالة إلى جميع البلاد الأخرى في القارة مؤداها أن العنف الجنسي يجب تناوله بوصفه انتهاكاً خطيراً لحقوق الإنسان. وأضم صوتي إلى المساواة الآن، ولجنة أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي للدفاع عن حقوق المرأة في البرازيل، وفروعها الإقليمية، ومركز سيرس ر. فانس للعدالة الدولية في المطالبة بالعدل من أجل كلوديا وبأن تكون جميع النساء والفتيات في مأمن من العنف الجنسي. ويجب أن تؤذن قيادتكم بحدوث تغير في الثقافة التي تتسامح مع التجاهل المتفشي للعنف المرتكب ضد المرأة والفتاة.

وتفضلوا بقبول فائق الاحترام والتقدير،

Salsa Id: 
23743
Action Date: 
الثلاثاء, سبتمبر 27, 2016
Action Status: 
Letters Sent (Auto): 
2
All Letters Sent (Auto): 
961

في أيار/مايو الماضي، استيقظت "كلوديا" البالغة من العمر 16 عاماً عارية لتجد نفسها أمام مشهد مخيف لما يزيد على 30 رجلاً معهم أسلحة يسخرون منها ويوجهون إليها الشتائم. أصيبت بالرعب، ولكونها لم تجد القدرة على أن تتذكر أكثر من أنها في بيت صديقها، فقد أسرعت بانتزاع بعض الملابس من على الأرض وجرت خارجة. واكتشفت فيما بعد أنه جرى تخديرها واغتصابها على نحو جماعي في موقع يطلق عليه "السلخانة" حين وضع مهاجموها فيديو مهيناً لها على الإنترنت وانتشر في كل مكان.

أثار هذا الاعتداء غضباً شديداً على نطاق العالم، وقامت أربع نساء – غريبات عن كلوديا – بمد يد العون لها، ومساعدتها في الإبلاغ عن الجريمة والحصول على العناية الطبية. ومن دواعي الأسف أن الرد على ذلك تمثل في إلقاء اللوم على الضحية. فقد تجاهلت السلطات تماماً بلاغ كلوديا وعاملتها بدلاً من ذلك كما لو كانت هي المجرمة. بل إن أحد أفراد الشرطة الذكور سألها عما إذا كان قد "أعجبها الجنس الجماعي". ولحسن الحظ أن مجموعة النساء ساعدنها مرة ثانية. ومن ثم عُينت لها محققة جديدة، امرأة هذه المرة، أجرت تحقيقا ً وافياً وأيدت ادعاءها الاغتصاب. وكذلك وفّر مكتب الادعاء العام لولاية ريو دي جانيرو الحماية لكلوديا من الانتقام، بما في ذلك التهديدات "بشيّها في الميكروويف" في حال إبلاغها عن حوادث الاغتصاب، وألقى القبض على اثنين من الرجال.

غير أن سبعة فقط من المشتيه فيهم الذين يقدر عددهم بـ30 شخصاً هم الذين، بعد مرور أشهر على الجريمة، وجه إليهم الاتهام، ومن هؤلاء، لم يُلق القبض إلا على اثنين – هما سرجيو لويز دا سيلفا الأصغر (المعروف أيضاً باسم "دا روسيا") ومويسيز كاميلو دي لوسينا (المعروف باسم "كاناريو"). أما جميع الباقين فما زالوا مطلقي السراح. وتُجمع أكثر الأدلة جدوى عادة في غضون الساعات القليلة التالية للاعتداء. وبالنظر إلى سوء حالة نظم الإبلاغ والافتقار إلى تنسيق الجهود بين الأطباء الشرعيين المحققين في الاعتداء الجنسي وأجهزة إنفاذ الأمن، فقد تكون الفرصة قد ضاعت لجمع أفضل الأدلة. وهذا يقوّض القدرة على الملاحقة القضائية القوية.

وفي هذه الأيام بالذات، وأعين العالم مركزة على البرازيل بمناسبة الألعاب الأولمبية الصيفية، أمام الحكومة فرصة سانحة لاتخاذ موقف عام قوي ضد ثقافة العنف الجنسي التي نكبت بها البرازيل طوال عقود.

ذلك أن العنف الجنسي في البرازيل وضعف التصدي له من الأمور التي تثير القلق الشديد، حيث تقع الاعتداءات في معظم الأحيان على أكثر الناس ضعفاً. وتفيد التقارير بأن نسبة 51 في المائة من حالات الاغتصاب المسجلة ترتكب ضد الفتيات حتى سن 13 عاماً وأن 20 في المائة منها تقريباً ترتكب ضد المراهقات اللائي تتراوح أعمارهن بين 14 و17 عاماً.  وتفيدنا المنظمات الشريكة للمساواة الآن بأن الضحايا البرازيليات تتحملن استجوابات متعددة من أجهزة إنفاذ القانون وتكون هذه الاستجوابات غير مراعية لمشاعرهن في أفضل الظروف، أما في أسوئها، كما في هذه الحالة، فتكون عدائية بشكل صريح. وقد بٌذلت بعض الجهود في البرلمان البرازيلي لمنع النساء من الحصول على أي نوع من الرعاية المتعلقة بالصحة الإنجابية، حتى اللواتي تعرضن للاغتصاب. وبالرغم من أن النساء البرازيليات تواجهن بالفعل قيوداً شديدة في الحصول على الرعاية الإنجابية، فقد كانت هناك دائماً استثناءات قانونية بسبب الاغتصاب. ولذلك فإن هذه المحاولات الجديدة لتقليص حقوق المرأة تبعث على القلق. فالحصول على الإجهاض القانوني في ظل الأوضاع الحالية ليس دائماً متاحاً لضحايا العنف الجنسي. ولا يوجد في البرازيل سوى 37 مركزاً صحياً لتقديم هذه الخدمة لأكثر من 000 5 مدينة. ونظراً لأن هذه المراكز مركزة في المناطق الحضرية الكبيرة، فإن آلاف النساء والفتيات محرومات تماماً من أي موارد في هذا الصدد.

والحلول اللازمة لحماية الضحايا وكفالة العدالة للجميع واضحة:

1-  يجب القبض على مرتكبي الجرائم وتوجيه الاتهام إليهم بالقدر الكامل الذي يتيحه القانون.

2-  يجب أن يوجد تدريب منتظم لأجهزة إنفاذ القانون وأن تتبع هذه الأجهزة نهجاً يراعي شعور الضحايا في حالات الاعتداء الجنسي.

3-  يجب أن يوفر المسعفون الأول فحوص الطب الجنائي دون إبطاء أو معوّقات إجرائية.

4-  يجب أن تزيد الحكومات الخدمات المقدمة لمساعدة الضحايا من خلال عملية العدالة الجنائية، لكي لا يتركن لتدبُّر شؤونهن بأنفسهن.

ويقع على البرازيل التزام بموجب القانون الدولي بأن تتصدى للعنف الجنسي، ولا سيما في إطار المادة 7 من اتفاقية بيليم دو بارا التي تلزم الدول بمنع العنف المرتكب ضد المرأة والمعاقبة عليه. وكما أكدت محكمة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان (قضية كامبو ألجودونيرو ضد المكسيكالإفلات من العقاب على أعمال العنف المرتكبة ضد المرأة يعزز رسالة مؤداها أنه مقبول ويمكن التسامح معه. ولهذا أيضاً أصداء في التوصية العامة 33 للجنة المعنية بالقضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة بشأن سبل الحصول على العدالة، مما يستدعي المساءلة في النظم القضائية، وإتاحة طرق الانتصاف للضحايا. ولابد من أن تتاح للضحايا سبل اللجوء للقضاء منذ اللحظة التي تبدأ فيها القضية، وأن يتوفر لهن محققون مدربون ومراعون لمشاعرهن حتى يكتمل التحقيق، مع منح التعويضات وتقديم الخدمات التي تساعد الضحايا الناجيات على طريق التعافي. وفي أثناء عمل البرازيل على تحسين الاستجابات للضحايا، يجب أن تقدم أجهزة إنفاذ القوانين جميع الجناة للعدالة.

[TAKE ACTION]

ولو عملت البرازيل، بوصفها أكثر بلدان أمريكا اللاتينية في عدد السكان، على كفالة العدالة لكلوديا لساعدت على توجيه رسالة، ليس فقط في البرازيل وإنما إلى جميع البلاد الأخرى في القارة، مؤداها أن العنف الجنسي يجب أن يعامل بوصفه انتهاكاً جسيماً لحقوق الإنسان. ونرجو الانضمام إلى المساواة الآن وشريكينا، لجنة أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي للدفاع عن حقوق المرأة في البرازيل، ومركز سيرس ر. فانس للعدالة الدولية، في مناشدة حكومة البرازيل القيام بما يلي:

  • القبض على جميع المسؤولين عن اغتصاب كلوديا وعن نشر هذه الجريمة العنيفة على الملأ وتوجيه الاتهام إليهم ومعاقبتهم إلى أقصى حد يتيحه القانون، وإجراء المحاكمة على نحو لا ينطوي على المزيد من إيذائها
  • وضع وإدماج نظم ملائمة للاستجابة، بناء على نهج قائم على حقوق الإنسان ومراعٍ للاعتبارات الجنسانية، لكي ترى الضحايا أن الإبلاغ سيترتب عليه العدل – بما في ذلك تدريب مقدمي الرعاية الصحية والعاملين في النظام القضائي والشرطة.
  • استكشاف جميع سبل التعويض المالي التي تكفل لكلوديا المساعدة على إعادة بناء حياتها

رسالة موجهة إلى الرئيس المؤقت تيمر

الرئيس المؤقت ميشيل تيمر

Palacio do Planalto

Raca dos Tres Poderes

برازيليا
البرازيل
بريد إلكتروني: agendapr@presidencia.gov.br
تويتر: @MichelTemer
فيسبوك: https://www.facebook.com/MichelTemer

عزيزي فخامة الرئيس المؤقت تيمر

لقد أصيب العالم بالفزع حين سمع بالاغتصاب الجماعي لـ"كلوديا" في آيار/مايو، ولكنه ازداد غضباً حين سمع عن الكيفية التي عاملها بها أول المسعفين في نظام العدالة. وبالنظر إلى أن صور هذا الاغتصاب قد ظهرت على الإنترنت، فلا بد من أن كلوديا تتحمل هذه الاعتداءات المرة تلو المرة. فشكراً لكم على عرضكم تقديم الحماية لكلوديا واتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لضمان العدالة في حالتها. والآن، يجب أن تتأكدوا من القبض على جميع الجناة الباقين في هذه القضية.

فمن حق النساء والفتيات أن يعشن حياتهن دون أن تتعرضن للعنف. وفي البرازيل تكفل لهن تلك الحقوق بموجب اتفاقية بيليم دو بارا، وبخاصة المادة 7. أما التنحية باللوم على الضحية وسوء التنسيق القانوني والمتابعة القانونية، كما حدث في حالة كلوديا، فينتج عنهما نقص عام في الإبلاغ عن الاغتصاب واستمرار العنف. وتتساءل الضحايا عن كيفية المسير قدما إذا واجهن عوائق تحول دون العدالة. فيجب على البرازيل أن تتخذ الخطوات اللازمة لتغيير هذا المناخ من الإفلات من العقاب إزاء العنف المرتكب ضد المرأة والفتاة.

وإذا ما كفلت البرازيل العدالة لكلوديا فإنها، بوصفها أكثر بلاد أمريكا اللاتينية في عدد السكان، ستعمل بمثابة رادع  في الداخل وتساعد على توجيه رسالة إلى جميع البلاد الأخرى في القارة مؤداها أن العنف الجنسي يجب تناوله بوصفه انتهاكاً خطيراً لحقوق الإنسان. وأضم صوتي إلى المساواة الآن، ولجنة أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي للدفاع عن حقوق المرأة في البرازيل، وفروعها الإقليمية، ومركز سيرس ر. فانس للعدالة الدولية في المطالبة بالعدل من أجل كلوديا وبأن تكون جميع النساء والفتيات في مأمن من العنف الجنسي. ويجب أن تؤذن قيادتكم بحدوث تغير في الثقافة التي تتسامح مع التجاهل المتفشي للعنف المرتكب ضد المرأة والفتاة.

وتفضلوا بقبول فائق الاحترام والتقدير،

أبدي فعل

0%
961 of 4000 letters sent

Updates

English

In May 2016, 16-year-old 'Claudia' woke naked to the frightening sight of over 30 men with weapons taunting her and calling her names.  Terrified, and only being able to recall last being at her boyfriend’s house, she quickly grabbed some clothes from the floor and ran out. She later came to find out that she had been drugged and gang-raped in a location dubbed “the slaughterhouse” when a humiliating video posted by her attackers went viral.  

The assault ignited worldwide outrage and four women – strangers to Claudia – came to her aid, helping her to report the crime and get medical attention. Sadly, victim-blaming was the response. The authorities completely disregarded Claudia’s report and instead treated her as if she were the criminal. One male police officer even asked if “she liked group sex.” Thankfully, the group of women helped her once again. She got a new investigator, a woman, who held a thorough investigation and supported her claim of rape. The Public Prosecution Office of the State of Rio de Janeiro also offered Claudia protection from reprisals, including threats “to microwave her” if she reported the rapes, and arrested two of the men.  

However,  months later, only seven of the estimated 30 suspects have been charged, and, of those, only two -- Sergio Luiz da Silva Junior (known as “da Russia”) and Moises Camilo de Lucena (known as “Canario”) -- have been arrested. All the remaining men are still at large.  The most viable evidence is collected within the immediate hours after an assault. Given the poor reporting systems and lack of coordinated efforts between sexual assault examiners and law enforcement, the opportunity to collect the best evidence may have passed.  This undermines the ability to bring forward a strong prosecution.

Right now, the eyes of the world are on Brazil for the 2016 Summer Olympics, The government has the opportunity to take a strong public stand against the culture of sexual violence that has plagued Brazil for decades.

Sexual violence in Brazil and the inadequate response to it are alarming, with assaults most often aimed at the most vulnerable. 51% of recorded rapes are reportedly committed against girls up to age 13 and nearly 20% are against adolescent girls aged between 14 – 17. Equality Now’s partners inform us that Brazilian victims endure multiple interviews by law enforcement that are insensitive at best and, at worst, as in this case, outright hostile. There have been attempts in the Brazilian parliament to eliminate access to any reproductive care for women, even those who have been raped. While Brazilian women already face severe restrictions in accessing reproductive care, there have always been legal exemptions based on rape. These new attempts to curtail women’s rights are therefore alarming. As it is, access to legal abortion is not always available for victims of sexual violence.  Brazil only has 37 health centers that provide the service for more than 5,000 cities. As these centers are concentrated in the bigger urban areas, thousands of women and girls have no resources at all.  

The solutions to protect victims and ensure justice universally are clear:

  1. Perpetrators must be arrested and charged to the full extent of the law.
  2. Law enforcement must have regular training and employ a victim-sensitive approach in sexual assault cases. 
  3. First responders must provide forensic examinations without undue delay or procedural barriers.
  4. Governments must increase services to assist victims through the criminal justice process, so that they are not left to fend for themselves.

Brazil is bound by international law to address sexual violence, particularly under Article 7 of the Convention Belém do Pará which obligates states to prevent and punish violence against women. As already established by the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (Campo Algodonero v Mexico), impunity for acts of violence against women reinforces a message that it is acceptable and tolerable. This is also echoed in the Committee to Eliminate Discrimination Against Women’s (CEDAW) General Recommendation 33 on access to justice, which calls for accountability in justice systems and remedies for victims. Victims must have access to justice from the inception of a case, with trained and sensitive investigators to completion, with restitution and services that will help survivors on the path to recovery. As Brazil works to improve responses to victims, law enforcement must bring all perpetrators to justice.

As Latin America’s most populous country, if Brazil were to ensure justice for Claudia it would help send the message not only in Brazil but to all other countries on the continent that sexual violence must be treated as a serious human rights violation. Please join Equality Now and our partners, the Latin American and Caribbean Committee for the Defense of Women’s Rights (CLADEM) in Brazil and CLADEM Regional, and the Cyrus R. Vance Center for International Justice, in calling on the Government of Brazil to:

  • Arrest, charge and punish everyone responsible for raping Claudia and for publicizing this violent crime to the full extent of the law, and conduct the trial in a way that does not further victimize her
  • Develop and incorporate adequate response systems, based on a human-rights and a gender sensitive approach, so that victims see that reporting will result in justice – including training for health care providers, the judiciary system and the police
  • Explore all avenues of financial restitution for Claudia to help her rebuild her life

LETTER TO PRESIDENT TEMER

President Michel Temer
Palacio do Planalto 
Raca dos Tres Poderes 
Brasilia 
Brazil
Email: agendapr@presidencia.gov.br 
Twitter: @MichelTemer
FB: https://www.facebook.com/MichelTemer

Country: 
All letters: 
4000
Categories new : 
Hero Title: 
Brazil, enforce your sexual violence laws
Hero image: 
Letter Body: 

Dear President Temer:

The world was horrified when it heard about the gang-rape of “Claudia” in May but further angered when it heard how first-responders in the justice system have treated her.  Because images of this rape have surfaced on-line, Claudia must endure these assaults over and over again.  Thank you for offering to protect Claudia and for taking steps to secure justice for her.  Now, you must make sure that all the remaining perpetrators in this case are arrested. 

Women and girls have the right to live their lives free of violence.  In Brazil, they   are guaranteed those rights under the Convention Belém do Pará, especially in Article 7.  Victim-blaming and poor legal coordination and follow up, such as in Claudia’s case, result in the universal underreporting of rape and continued violence.  Victims wonder why they should move forward if they will face barriers to justice.  Brazil must take steps to change this climate of impunity towards violence against women and girls. 

As Latin America’s most populous country, if Brazil were to ensure justice for Claudia it would act as a deterrent inside the country and help send the message to all other countries on the continent that sexual violence must be treated as a serious human rights violation.  I join Equality Now, the Latin American and Caribbean Committee for the Defense of Women’s Rights (CLADEM) in Brazil and CLADEM Regional, and the Cyrus R. Vance Center for International Justice in calling for justice for Claudia and for all women and girls to be free from sexual violence.   Your leadership must signal a shift in the culture that tolerates the rampant disregard of violence against women and girls.

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Salsa Id: 
23519
Action Date: 
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Action Status: 
Letters Sent (Auto): 
833
All Letters Sent (Auto): 
880
Hero Overlay: 
Add

In May 2016, 16-year-old 'Claudia' woke naked to the frightening sight of over 30 men with weapons taunting her and calling her names.  Terrified, and only being able to recall last being at her boyfriend’s house, she quickly grabbed some clothes from the floor and ran out. She later came to find out that she had been drugged and gang-raped in a location dubbed “the slaughterhouse” when a humiliating video posted by her attackers went viral.  

The assault ignited worldwide outrage and four women – strangers to Claudia – came to her aid, helping her to report the crime and get medical attention. Sadly, victim-blaming was the response. The authorities completely disregarded Claudia’s report and instead treated her as if she were the criminal. One male police officer even asked if “she liked group sex.” Thankfully, the group of women helped her once again. She got a new investigator, a woman, who held a thorough investigation and supported her claim of rape. The Public Prosecution Office of the State of Rio de Janeiro also offered Claudia protection from reprisals, including threats “to microwave her” if she reported the rapes, and arrested two of the men.  

However,  months later, only seven of the estimated 30 suspects have been charged, and, of those, only two -- Sergio Luiz da Silva Junior (known as “da Russia”) and Moises Camilo de Lucena (known as “Canario”) -- have been arrested. All the remaining men are still at large.  The most viable evidence is collected within the immediate hours after an assault. Given the poor reporting systems and lack of coordinated efforts between sexual assault examiners and law enforcement, the opportunity to collect the best evidence may have passed.  This undermines the ability to bring forward a strong prosecution.

Right now, the eyes of the world are on Brazil for the 2016 Summer Olympics, The government has the opportunity to take a strong public stand against the culture of sexual violence that has plagued Brazil for decades.

Sexual violence in Brazil and the inadequate response to it are alarming, with assaults most often aimed at the most vulnerable. 51% of recorded rapes are reportedly committed against girls up to age 13 and nearly 20% are against adolescent girls aged between 14 – 17. Equality Now’s partners inform us that Brazilian victims endure multiple interviews by law enforcement that are insensitive at best and, at worst, as in this case, outright hostile. There have been attempts in the Brazilian parliament to eliminate access to any reproductive care for women, even those who have been raped. While Brazilian women already face severe restrictions in accessing reproductive care, there have always been legal exemptions based on rape. These new attempts to curtail women’s rights are therefore alarming. As it is, access to legal abortion is not always available for victims of sexual violence.  Brazil only has 37 health centers that provide the service for more than 5,000 cities. As these centers are concentrated in the bigger urban areas, thousands of women and girls have no resources at all.  

The solutions to protect victims and ensure justice universally are clear:

  1. Perpetrators must be arrested and charged to the full extent of the law.
  2. Law enforcement must have regular training and employ a victim-sensitive approach in sexual assault cases. 
  3. First responders must provide forensic examinations without undue delay or procedural barriers.
  4. Governments must increase services to assist victims through the criminal justice process, so that they are not left to fend for themselves.

Brazil is bound by international law to address sexual violence, particularly under Article 7 of the Convention Belém do Pará which obligates states to prevent and punish violence against women. As already established by the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (Campo Algodonero v Mexico), impunity for acts of violence against women reinforces a message that it is acceptable and tolerable. This is also echoed in the Committee to Eliminate Discrimination Against Women’s (CEDAW) General Recommendation 33 on access to justice, which calls for accountability in justice systems and remedies for victims. Victims must have access to justice from the inception of a case, with trained and sensitive investigators to completion, with restitution and services that will help survivors on the path to recovery. As Brazil works to improve responses to victims, law enforcement must bring all perpetrators to justice.

As Latin America’s most populous country, if Brazil were to ensure justice for Claudia it would help send the message not only in Brazil but to all other countries on the continent that sexual violence must be treated as a serious human rights violation. Please join Equality Now and our partners, the Latin American and Caribbean Committee for the Defense of Women’s Rights (CLADEM) in Brazil and CLADEM Regional, and the Cyrus R. Vance Center for International Justice, in calling on the Government of Brazil to:

  • Arrest, charge and punish everyone responsible for raping Claudia and for publicizing this violent crime to the full extent of the law, and conduct the trial in a way that does not further victimize her
  • Develop and incorporate adequate response systems, based on a human-rights and a gender sensitive approach, so that victims see that reporting will result in justice – including training for health care providers, the judiciary system and the police
  • Explore all avenues of financial restitution for Claudia to help her rebuild her life

LETTER TO PRESIDENT TEMER

President Michel Temer
Palacio do Planalto 
Raca dos Tres Poderes 
Brasilia 
Brazil
Email: agendapr@presidencia.gov.br 
Twitter: @MichelTemer
FB: https://www.facebook.com/MichelTemer

Dear President Temer:

The world was horrified when it heard about the gang-rape of “Claudia” in May but further angered when it heard how first-responders in the justice system have treated her.  Because images of this rape have surfaced on-line, Claudia must endure these assaults over and over again.  Thank you for offering to protect Claudia and for taking steps to secure justice for her.  Now, you must make sure that all the remaining perpetrators in this case are arrested. 

Women and girls have the right to live their lives free of violence.  In Brazil, they   are guaranteed those rights under the Convention Belém do Pará, especially in Article 7.  Victim-blaming and poor legal coordination and follow up, such as in Claudia’s case, result in the universal underreporting of rape and continued violence.  Victims wonder why they should move forward if they will face barriers to justice.  Brazil must take steps to change this climate of impunity towards violence against women and girls. 

As Latin America’s most populous country, if Brazil were to ensure justice for Claudia it would act as a deterrent inside the country and help send the message to all other countries on the continent that sexual violence must be treated as a serious human rights violation.  I join Equality Now, the Latin American and Caribbean Committee for the Defense of Women’s Rights (CLADEM) in Brazil and CLADEM Regional, and the Cyrus R. Vance Center for International Justice in calling for justice for Claudia and for all women and girls to be free from sexual violence.   Your leadership must signal a shift in the culture that tolerates the rampant disregard of violence against women and girls.

Yours sincerely,

 

 

TAKE ACTION

0%
880 of 4000 letters sent